Weekend Whims- Cute Women’s Clothing from the Blogosphere!

Big news here! I did something last week that I have wanted to do since high school. I kept blowing it off as no big deal. That is until Thursday morning, the morning before my scheduled surgery, I woke up freakin’ out. A nervous Nellie I was FOR SURE! I wasn’t questioning what I was doing, but all of a sudden it hit me that what I was doing wasn’t just a little nothing thing to ignore! I had a breast reduction! I’ve wanted and needed it for a long time. I’m sitting here writing this between naps from my pain medications! The surgery went well, but like with any surgery, there’s the painful healing time….



I’m so excited to not have to deal with the pains of the big boobs. I soooo don’t understand wanting big boobs.. They just hurt! And they don’t make too many cute clothes for those of us that do have them. This year, one of my goals was to make more of my own clothes so that I didn’t dress so blah. But now I had this and am so excited to be able to have my pick of patterns that will look cute!!!

These are some I’ve had my eye on….

1. This easy peasy shirt from Lemon Squeezy Home via Sewing In No Man’s Land is really cute! I had it pinned thinking would be good for the before boobs, but it’s going to look really cute for the after boobs!

2. I just found this pattern for the Amelia Dress on Sew Mama Sew today. Very cute and it would never have fit me before!

3. I think this Front Tie Spring Dress by Make It Love It is totally cute! And before it probably wouldn’t have fit me since I wore the size 5T pattern she has it in, but like she says it could be for kids or adults!

4. I want to try again with the Wiksten Tank. You might remember that I tried it before and wasn’t real excited about it… I don’t think I ever wore it again after those pictures…. I’m excited again!

5. And who doesn’t love the Washi Dress by Made By Rae??? Before I knew there was no way to get the girls in that dress. But now I can try this one too!

6. I’ve been wanting to try out these t-shirt patterns from Sewing the Littleheart Collection.

7. And this dress is cute, too. The One Hour Elastic Dress via Make! I just can’t believe that I might be able to wear a sleeveless dress again… Wow!

I still some work to do on the ‘ole figure, but just knowing that I will have more options this summer is helping pull me through the recovery process. OK, now to take another nap…..


  1. Louise, what a big step you’ve taken! I hope you’re feeling better lickety-split and are soon able to enjoy the clothes you were meant to wear. Congratulations you!

  2. Congratulations on doing something that you have wanted for so long. And enjoy the excuse to make more beautiful things!

  3. How right you are about the pain, the clothes not fitting right, the frustrations of having a big bosom. Lots of rest & let the other people do for you. That Amelia Dress is just the cutiest (is that a word? It is now!) Follow the Dr.s directions all the way, no matter HOW good you are feeling. That is the way to get back to sewing again & crafting. A smooth recovery to you.

    • Thank you! I’m trying. It’s nice to have an excuse to rest. but I’m getting bored and restless, but then realize I don’t have the energy to do what I want to be doing and I go back to resting!

  4. Bravo. I’m working on the toile for the Amelia dress at the moment. I’m no skinny Minnie so I’m hopeful that it will work out ok. I’ve done the first fit and know what alternations I need to start with. Fingers crossed.
    Hope you heal quickly.

  5. Oh my dear sweetie, please take it easy & recover nicely! I wish you well with your recovery and your new wardrobe! Thank God, I have always been small chested! Heck, it takes a nice cold breeze for me to know that I have a chest when the nips stick out! LOL We will be thinking of you today and wish you well in your recovery! Hugs!

  6. Lou, so excited for the lesser! The tunic-y style with correct black and white stripeys is an AWESOME shirt!! This is something that I would love to do. Hoping you are on the mend!

  7. Cute, love that stuff! You got me in the sewing mood =D


  1. […] Weekend Whims- Cute Women’s Clothing from the Blogosphere! (feelincrafty.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] happen. At all. My poor crafty kid missed out on Easter crafts this year. Recovering from this surgery has taken much longer than I was expecting. I’m doing well and moving around, but my moving […]

  3. […] happen. At all. My poor crafty kid missed out on Easter crafts this year. Recovering from this surgery has taken much longer than I was expecting. I’m doing well and moving around, but my moving […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

