Birthday Girl Shirt Tutorial by Design, Dining + Diapers

I’m so excited to Taryn from Design, Dining + Diapers over today! I found her blog last fall through our Seattle Blogging FB group and fell in love. All her projects are so light and airy and that totally stands out to me in this somewhat dreary place that we call home! I’m so honored to have her visit today. Be sure to check out her blog after you read about her fun project!!

Hi All! I’m Taryn from Design, Dining + Diapers and I’m so happy to be here today at Feelin’ Crafty!

This past weekend was a whirlwind for our family, we celebrated both my husband’s and my daughter’s birthdays with two separate parties. Whew! My daughter turned 2 (I’m still in denial) and I threw her a very girly train party. It was a blast. For her party I made her a custom “Birthday Girl” shirt that screamed ‘Girly’ to the fullest. She loves her pink and sparkles. Today, I’m going to show you how you can easily make your own custom shirt, with your own custom design. I’m serious, it is SO simple. You will be addicted🙂

Birthday Girl Shirt Tutorial by Design, Dining + Diapers


Supplies Needed:

– Basic white tee (I picked mine up at Fred Meyer on sale for $2.99!)

– Piece of white paper (Coloring book pages, printer paper, anything will work)

– Hot pink Ink Effects by DecoArt

– Paint brush

– Iron

– Jewels


Start by printing out your design onto a piece of basic printer paper. Or you can also paint directly onto the paper if you have a steady hand. Just remember that the image will need to be the mirror image of what you want to appear on the shirt. Then paint the design using the Ink Effects.


The color that appears on the paper is not necessarily the final color. The Hot Pink that I used looked more fuchsia on the paper and when I ironed it on it was a true hot pink.


Now if you thought it was easy up until this point, it gets even easier. Simply cut out the shape of the design and lay it flat onto the shirt.


Iron over the image, putting pressure onto the design and making sure that all corners have been covered. I spent about 60 seconds going over the design.


Peel off your paper and your design will be transferred! SO easy. What I like about using the Ink Effects is that it doesn’t leave the plastic feeling that transfer paper has. It is really soft and blends right into the fabric. The only issue I had was that I saw a few iron marks on my design, but they weren’t as noticeable once the I put the jewels on.


I topped the design off by added some fun jewels along the edges and a few pink bows. Every birthday girl needs some bling!


The party turned out great and my daughter loved her sparkly shirt. If your kids have a birthday coming up, give this technique a try! Its so easy and can be done in an afternoon.

Thanks so much for Louise for having me over today. If you want to view more of my projects you can take a look at my project gallery here.

Footer Signature


Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. I wish it was MY birthday! Can you make me one in a tank? LOL Love it, love it! Hope you saw the sock bunnies I made!

  2. Thank you so much for having me over today!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

