Another Kid Designed Momma Made Project

Did you see the last Kid Designed, Momma Made project I did? That one was for my son’s auction… This one is a baby gift!


Last week I was invited to a good friend’s baby shower brunch. It was totally last minute. And it was planned during a week that I was still recovering from surgery and unable to drive. I knew that I couldn’t just run out and buy something. And honestly, I’m not real good at that. SO the other night we were out and my son started drawing….


As he got a little way through his drawing, I knew exactly what I was going to do! This baby coming is the third child in the family. His soon to be middle sister has this little tiny blanket that she carries everywhere! Between that and the drawing, I knew I was going to make the baby brother a little blanket kinda like his sister’s.

The drawing continued, but I knew which part of the drawing would be the one I made. I told my son that I was using his drawing to make the baby a present, but that I wasn’t doing the whole drawing. He was very relieved and said that ‘If you use the whole drawing, it might scare the baby.’ Since the drawing is an alien fighting a ball of fire….


The striped part became the blanket, and the face and hair is stuffed. So it could be a pillow, or it could be a stuffie… It’s up to him to decide! And the ears are just soft little quilted pieces to love on, like the tag dolls that kids love so much!


I love turning kids drawings into reality. Only this time, when my son saw it, he was horrified! IT was NOT AT ALL like his picture, according to him. The hair is not hair, but part of the hat and it’s NOT SUPPOSED to be polka dot!!!! AHHHH!!! Well, I think it looks pretty close to the original drawing and it just so happened that the polka dot was the only soft coordinating fabric that I happened to have on hand… I’m happy with it!


What do you think? Does it look like the original drawing???


Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. It’s a totally adorable and sweet lovey for this new little guy. I betcha he carries it around everywhere (eventually). And the fact that you guys both had a hand in creating it makes it extra-special.🙂

  2. JohnPaul's Mom says:

    Very cute! I’m friends with your mom. The next time you are in town… maybe you can come give me a tutorial on how to use the sewing machine I have! 🙂

    • We’ll see! I’d love to,but to be honest, I have a hard time switching machines… I’m kinda set in my ways. I know how mine works, but I’m not even great at switching machines! You might not know this, but my mom knows how to sew….🙂

  3. Another AWESOME project! It’s inspiring that you can look at a simple drawing and turn it into something that you can hold, hug, and carry with you! You are simply remarkable.

  4. I think you did a pretty good job! it is really cute! It is great to have such inspiration!

    I’d love for you to check out our Pattern Party! Those with free patterns and templates to share are invited to link up! We also have a great giveaway for Free Patterns!

  5. This is darling! What great inspiration… I hope he enjoys playing with it, too! (thanks so much for sharing at Project Inspire{d} this week!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

