A Foxy Sewing Machine Cover!

I had a request for a custom sewing machine cover from my friend Jenny at The Southern Institute. And of course, I said yes. I asked if she had any preferences and she mentioned foxes and birds.


And that’s what she got!


I love love love this little fox! I had seen this fox bag on Flickr and favorite-ed it right away. It ends up that the fox is from the paper-pieced pattern Lil’ Fox by Artisania. And I bought the pattern! The pattern is for a 8×10 image, which made the fox too big for my project. I ended up printing it at half scale and piecing from that. It’s actually my first paper piecing project, I think. Yeah, it is. So of course I couldn’t make it easy and do it nice and big like the instructions. Instead I decided to work with little tiny pieces of fabric!


I also changed the eyes a bit. It’s kinda my thing. On almost all of my earlier work (this project isn’t old, but it shows some old ones nad it’s the same designs as my old ones!), I used to show the sweet closed eyes, so I kept with it here.


I stopped, stepped back and looked before I made it into the machine cover. I honestly love it as a mini quilt as well!


But a mini quilt wasn’t where I was going, was it???? Nope! My original design idea had the fox next to a forest with a big tealish blue sky, but I wasn’t sure how I wanted to make the forest… The I came across this Birch Forest fabric by Micheal Miller and it all came together! I was at the shop, getting things straight, and saw a piece in the fat quarter pile and it hit me! Perfect!


And I’m totally in love with this Oh, Deer fabric from Moda. I like for the inside fabric to relate on some level to the outside and I thought this forest theme went quite nicely! I really really want to make something for myself out of this fabric, but not sure what… Any ideas?


This was the first time I have used different sides! Typically I have left the sides a solid color, but this time I wanted to carry the forest over to the side, but knew it wouldn’t work on both sides. So we ended up with different sides this time!

It took me way to long to actually get this to Jenny, but I finally did and I think she likes it!!

Shared with these link parties!


  1. You know I love it!! Thank you so very much!!!

  2. That little fox is a cutie-pie. As you’ve noted, the whole design works fabulously as a mini-quilt too. Beauty-ful!

  3. Charity G. says:

    I love, love, LOVE this. It is beautiful. I’m terrible about keeping a seeing machine cover on, but I think I might do better if I had something as cute as this. Great job!

    • I’m bad about it too. I have a great one, but I take it off, it gets covered in fabric and I forget to put it back on. This reminds me that I need to pull it out of the pile again!🙂

  4. So beautiful! Love the little fox and the trees too! 🙂

  5. that fox is adorable! great job!

  6. I LOVE the foxy too, the whole thing is just adorable! LOVE IT !

  7. It is pretty, Pretty, PRETTY! Is this a tutorial or your design? If it is your design, would you consider doing a tutorial?? I would love to make one for my friend!

  8. Lorraine says:

    I want the fox as a cover OR a mini quilt! Adorable! The other fabric is fantastic too…Hmmm…
    Luca would love that as a pillow case.

  9. This is ADORABLE! I am so in need of a sewing machine cover. This is great inspiration! Thanks for sharing! I’d love for you to visit us at Get Your Crap Together!

  10. Oh I’m so glad for Sharefest because I found this! I’m getting a sewing machine to occupy me for the summer. I love this cover and I love the tutorials!! Thanks for sharing🙂 Feel free to follow back!

  11. Wow! This is just adorable! I love the little fox… too cute! (thanks for sharing on Project Inspire{d} this week!)


  1. […] isn’t is ADORABLE??? Remember my Foxy Sewing Machine Cover from a few weeks back? Well, a neighbor saw it and loved it, so it gave me the idea to turn it into […]

  2. […] is ADORABLE??? I recently used the fox design in a Foxy Sewing Machine Cover from a few weeks back. Well, a neighbor saw it and loved it, so it gave me the idea to turn it into […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

