Thriftin’ on Thursday!

Ok, so I didn’t actually go thriftin’ today, but I thought I’d tell you about our adventures! Last weekend we were supposed to have our family pictures taken in Tacoma. So we headed out and then found out, on the way there (it’s about 45 minutes or so from here), that our photographer didn’t actually put us in his calendar. Even though he gave the date, etc… Anyway…. We ended up having a great time together after all!


As we were turning around we decided to check out the Antique Row in downtown Tacoma. Our first little find was the Graffiti Garage. We love some graffiti… I’ll admit it, we do like it! It’s probably not the best thing to teach our child, but hey! I love the colors with the pink and yellow one above. Unknown Artist…  It was pretty inspiring to me. My husband and I hatched a plan of me making a quilt and then he adds a stencil to it!


And the guys posing in front of more….

Then we headed to some shops! My son kept getting the good deals. Free bracelets (those that he’s holding in the picture above), discounted butterflies, a free stained glass picture…. He’s cute! What can I say?


This one store had all these fairy tale figures from an old playground at one of Tacoma’s parks. They were sooooo cool! But so out of our price range. oh, well…. They were even inspiring and my husband and I were thinking of ways to make our own! MAybe a tutorial one day?? Who knows! (don’t hold your breath though!)


And here’s all of our loot! The stained glass piece is kinda cool. Especially for free. It does have a little broken part. but maybe we can fix it. Or it just becomes backyard art and we’re fine with the flaw.


The print of the nativity is pretty cool. The lady said it was from the early 1900’s. Who knows. I just liked it! If you know anything about it, please let me know.


Some cool books that I can ‘t wait to read. The kid doesn’t seem so interested!


But the superhero’s on the other hand. They are a hit.


And check out Invisible Girl! Can you see her? Isn’t she cool!


Then my son found these butterflies and HAD TO HAVE THEM. He wants to make a butterfly quilt. hmmm… A small one he said. So these are the ones he picked out.


Then the next shop we went into had this beautiful butterfly quilt! I figured, hey, let’s just buy a butterfly quilt… But alas, it needed a LOT of work and was out of my price range, so I left it there and came home with my son’s butterflies instead! But how funny.  Right after the kiddo comes up with the butterfly quilt idea, we find one!

We had a good day and found some fun stuff. We’re going back in June to actually have our pictures taken! I’ll keep posted on that.. ha!

Did you get out and about and do anything fun this past weekend? Or are you doing anything this weekend? It’s supposed to be beautiful here in Seattle! 80 degrees! YEA! For 2 days! YEA!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

