do. Good Stitches Star Quilt

The second quilt for our do. Good Stitches group is FINALLY complete!  And I can say that because I was the quilter for the February quilt!


I was the quilter, but I can’t say I created the quilt by myself! As a quilter, you get to pick the block and the colors. Then each person in the group makes the blocks and sends them to you. Then the quilter pieces it and quilts it. So I had the help of the group making all the fantastic blocks from my wonky star tutorial!


And then I had the help of my kiddo to lay the whole thing out!



I love how the stars came together! I don’t know who well you can see it, but the quilting is the outline of the bottom star and it repeats out over the rest of the quilt. I really like it, just wish you could see it a little bit better on the front!


My request was to use bright colors for the star on a white background. Then as I was putting it together I realized that my ‘white’ was actually a creamy white. WHat really stood out bad was the pieceing of my cream fabric between the white background of the stars. So I redid my stars, which left me with some extra stars. One ended up being my SMQG name tag. The other ended up on the back!


If you are the quilter for, let’s say February, then you actual make the quilt in March. Unfortunately, I didn’t get all the blocks in time before my surgery and then my surgery set me back… So I didn’t actually finish my quilt until the end of April.


I guess when it gets done isn’t the important part. The important part is finishing the quilt for the charity our group quilts for!


Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. I love it! Do you outsource the (insert proper name for ‘the stitching that goes through all layers to stop the wadding from bunching’) or do it yourself? I’ve made one quilt before for a cot and just omitted that step as I couldn’t conceive how to achieve it on my machine!

  2. Beautiful, it looks really pretty and the star shaped quilting is great!

  3. This is beautiful! I love your yellow star on the back too.

  4. Words cannot even express well enough how much I L-O-V-E this quilt! Absolutely fantastic! I could see myself napping under this beauty!

  5. SUCH a beauty it is! The straight line echo quilting is really a feature too. Oos and aaahs all around!🙂

  6. That came out lovely! Well done!

  7. It looks great! I love how you quilted it!


  1. […] the Group/Bee Quilt category, I’m  sharing a quilt that you have seen before quite recently…. The Nurture Group of do. Good Stitches Star […]

  2. […] included my star quilt that I made with the help of my do. Good Stitches group. I knew the show was coming up, but I had resigned myself to not participating because I […]

  3. […] wonky star quilt I made, with the help of my Nurture Circle, in […]

  4. […] with the wonky star quilt I made, with the help of my Nurture Circle. This one is about 4×6 […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

