Pinwheels for PreSchool- Another Quilt

Man, I seem to be posting a lot lately about quilts! I seem to have been doing a lot of them lately!


And this is one that I love! I wish I could have kept it, but it went for a nice chunk of money that I couldn’t spend on it!


Our pre-school has an auction every year, like most pre-schools in Seattle. Do the ones near you?? Anyway, our school has two classes and each year each class does a project to be auctioned. This year my son’s class decided to do a quilt. And no, I didn’t have anything to do with the idea! But… They did ask if I’d put it all together! And what could I say?

Of course I did it! Of course I said yes!


We cut all the shapes, each one in different colors. Then I made all the pinwheel blocks while I was waiting on the pieces from the school kiddos. And then they all went together quite nicely.


As each one was drawing their blocks they told a little story. You have to hear some of my favorites!

Daniela said ‘It is a house. It has people inside. The people want to go for a walk, but they can’t because it’s very rainy.’

Ardin, Max’s best school friend, drew one of my favorite pictures and said, ‘It’s a monster. It has two claws on it’s feet.’

Max’s picture, ‘Is a wolf kingdom. I forgot to draw the wolf.’

Nevia doesn’t have a story, but I loved her very orderly picture!

And Max’s other ‘bestie’, Ali, says, ‘It’s called a red rocket. It has rockets. It doesn’t go into space, only clouds.’


And then on the back we had the teachers draw their own blocks.


And I made my own block. You can get the pattern pieces here. The pieces include a quarter inch seam allowance. Sew together pieces 1, 2 and 3. Then sew together pieces 4, 5, and 6. Then sew the two halves together. And lastly, I trimmed them down to 6 1/2″ blocks. Changed the colors around in each block and randomly rotated them in the quilt. I love the overall effect!


I wonder what next year’s project will be!



Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. WOW!!! It’s wonderful!!!

  2. Such a cute idea! Did the kids just use fabric markers on white cotton fabric? We moved from Seattle (Snoqualmie actually) 2 years ago and thought we were moving back this summer but it looks like we’re going to relocate to Florida. Hooray for warm weather but I miss my mountains.

    • Yes, they used fabric markers on the white cotton fabric. Yes, warm weather is nice! But the summers here are awesome! We think about moving south quite often, since I’m from Bama. But we stay here!🙂

  3. What a great idea and you are a trooper for being the go-to person for putting it all together.

  4. what a cool idea!!🙂

  5. Louise, What a lovely quilt! You did great job but the little drawings are the real stars. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Hi there, I looooove your quilt, it’s beautiful! I was like you when my oldest son was in 5th grade (he’ll be Sr in college this fall),we made a baby quilt for his teacher who had a baby girl. Each kid, drew their favorite book, we had fun putting the squares of; Dr.Seuss, Curious George, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Capt.Underpant, Where the Wild Things Are, etc.. together. I wished I still have the pictures, we gave all as the present to the teacher; the quilt, the kid’s stories (why they chose the book) and the pictures of each kids doing their 9×9 squares. Anyways, thank you so much for bringing back those wonderful memories! Happy Quilting!


  1. […] pinwheel quilt for the my son’s preschool was a big hit at the auction! This one was about 3×3 […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

