Let’s Talk About Teeth, Baby… Clean Teeth! And a Giveaway!

Let’s talk about you and me… (hearing the 90’s beat? Sorry, I don’t know where that came from….) Anyway….


I was recently contacted by GreenRubino, the PR folks for Washington Dental Service, asking me if I’d like to write a post about kids dental health. I have to admit, the timing was spot on! We’d just been camping with friends and had a pretty long conversation about our kids dental hygiene! I mean, how often do you talk about that while camping? Then I get home and got this email. Kinda odd, right? The timing was just too perfect to say no!


So then came the new toothbrush! Washington Dental Service sent the kiddo his very own Sonicare Kid’s Brush! I can’t tell you… I’ve never seen a kid more excited about a toothbrush! I wish I had had my camera, but this was one moment that I didn’t have it ready! He was stoked! It makes fun noises, it’s colorful and you can change the colors!


It’s summer and sometimes routines get off track, but brushing our teeth is something that always stays in the loop! Even when we’re camping! (hence our camping conversation!) Did you know that, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), tooth decay remains the most common chronic disease among children. The CDC recently reported that tooth decay affects more than one-fourth of U.S. children ages 2–5 and half of those ages 12–15. Yuck! I had no idea! Luckily, tooth decay and gum disease are nearly 100 percent preventable –even during summer vacations.

Dr. Ron Inge, Dental Director at Washington Dental Service, recommends the following tips for keeping our teeth sparklin’ clean this summer!

  • ·         Pack properly. Be sure to pack extra travel toothbrushes, toothpaste and floss in multiple bags or purses where you can get to them easily. In case you wake up in-transit or lose your luggage, you will still have a chance to keep your smile bright, white and clean.
  • ·         Protect your toothbrush. Toothbrush caps are great for protecting brush bristles from germs and damage from being packed in your bag. Once you arrive at your destination though it’s best to uncap it. Covering wet bristles can trap moisture and encourage bacteria growth.
  • ·         Bring disposable products. If you will be traveling in a place where you won’t have access to clean water or a sink, taking steps to clean your teeth are still important. Be sure to pack floss and look for products like disposable toothbrushes or tooth wipes, which don’t require paste or water. These can be a great resource in a long car-ride or a delayed flight at an airport.
  • ·         Watch what you eat. While on vacation, people tend to change their eating habits and indulge themselves. The increased exposure to sugar can affect your teeth. Try to limit the number of times your family enjoys sweets while away from home. Chew sugar-free gum sweetened with xylitol on long flights or car rides to help stimulate saliva production and rinse away food particles.
  • ·         Pack healthy snacks. Pack a cooler or a bag of snacks, but be selective. Choose tooth-friendly foods like carrots, celery and apples or healthy snacks like string cheese, yogurt, whole grain crackers or plain nuts. Pass on soda and sugary drinks and opt for water instead.
  • ·         Rinse with water. Even if all you have is water, rinsing well after eating or drinking can help rinse away sugars.

So let’s just talk about another reason I decided to elaborate on this subject. We go camping a lot during the summer and I always just throw our toothbrushes in the toiletry bag. Every time I look at the toothbrushes. I look at the bag. And I say to myself, I should probably put the brushes in their own bag. Then I throw them in the toiletry bag anyway and off we go.


Right about the same time I heard from The Washington Dental Service, I saw The Train to Crazy’s tutorial for a perfect, quick and easy solution to traveling with a toothbrush! I made our travel case in about 5 minutes!


And it’s perfect! It keeps our brushes separate and clean. And it’s soooo easy to wash!


And what’s an I’m Feelin’ Crafty post without a project?? Here’s a fun one that they shared with us! What do you do with your old toothbrushes? DId you know that you are supposed to change them every three months?


I usually keep ours for cleaning grout and little spots around the house. But that’s no fun, huh? Making bracelets sounds like much more fun! And it was! And I never would have thought of this!

Turn your Old Toothbrush Into a Fun Recycled Bracelet

Toothbrush Bracelet Info Graphic_11x17

You can download directions here.

We had a fun time making these! So first you have to remove the bristles….


It took us a little while to figure out the key to it. At first we were only getting about one bristle at a time and I knew we weren’t going to work on it for days at a time!


So what I figured out was that you use the needle nose pliers, grab a bunch of bristles down low, and roll the pliers over. Then the whole batch comes out at once!


Then boil the brushes like the instructions say. The instructions also say to use the simple plain toothbrushes. It’s true! I had grand plans of using our super man brushes, etc… Nope! They were too stiff. We boiled and boiled and reboiled when Dad came home, cause he’s ‘stronger than Momma’ (according to the kiddo). Still they didn’t bend well. Then we found the cheapo brushes. Perfect! much easier and faster, just like the directions say! Imagine!


They are actually quite fun!

And not only is doing these toothbrush activities fun, but it also makes them more important in the kiddos eyes! He’s so excited to have his new one, but he’s also making sure we take better care of the brushes and our teeth!


Does your kiddo need a new toothbrush so you can turn their old one into a bracelet??? Washington Dental Service is offering one lucky reader a brand new Sonicare Kid’s Brush!

Ready to WIN? You have FOUR ways to enter! And come back and leave a separate comment on this post for each entry!

1. Leave a comment letting us know how you get kids excited about brushing. (one entry)

2. I’m Feeling Crafty followers, via email or RSS Feeds, or Facebook, get another comment.  Leave one comment. (one entry)

3. Follow the Washington Dental Service Blog  via Facebook or twitter  and leave a third comment. (one entry)

4. Tweet, Facebook, Pin or blog about this giveaway and leave a third comment. (one entry)

That’s 4 possible entries! You must comment on this post to win. This giveaway is for US readers only. The giveaway will close on Sunday, August 11th at 11:59 p.m. PST, and we’ll choose one winner using Random.org.


I have been compensated with either payment or product for this post. All opinions are my own, honest opinions!

Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. I always worry about how my kid is brushing. It is so hard to get him excited about it….we try and make it a game and both of us will brush together. Thanks for the useful information

  2. I am a follower via wordpress

  3. I sing little songs while they brush so they laugh at the same time.

  4. following on facebook as Margaret Maggie Porter

  5. Following the Washingotn Dental Group on twitter @maggiep48

  6. I’ve never had to get my son excited about brushing. He likes to do it because we do it! He does like it when he get a new brush though!

  7. I follow you through Bloglovin’!

  8. I follow Washington Dental on facebook.

  9. I pinned this giveaway on pinterest: http://pinterest.com/pin/234890936788125992/

  10. Kathy e. says:

    I am a Feeling Crafty follower.

  11. Kathy e. says:

    When my kids were small, I would make up a song about their day as they brushed. They sometimes would brush longer than I could create!

  12. Lynn D in NC says:

    We brush our teeth together. That way, they can see exactly what I do so we kind of turn it into a game of “Follow the Leader”. My toothbrush – also a Phillips Sonicare – has the timer, so that tells us how long to brush. It’s like play time with making faces, but learning good oral hygiene practices while having some fun.

  13. Lynn D in NC says:

    I follow you with an RSS feed to Feedly

  14. Lynn D in NC says:

    I follow Washington Dental Service on Twitter

  15. Lynn D in NC says:
  16. I get my son excited about brushing by pretending I’m really excited about it. Yay! Brushing!

  17. I wonder if they still make those little dye tablets that had when I was a kid that showed all the areas you had missed when brushing. My kid totally needs to see that!

  18. Joanne Scally says:

    My children love to brush. We started them off very early with the finger brush and they always loved it.

  19. Wow, so many great tips!



  1. […] Thanks to everyone who read and commented on the Toothbrush giveaway Washington Dental Service! I got some good ideas for those days the kiddo isn’t excited about brushing! If you didn’t read the comments, check them out here! […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

