An Unplanned Blogging Break, kinda

I don’t know if you’ve noticed or not, but I haven’t been blogging on my usual schedule lately. Have you noticed? I’m kinda curious!


I’ve seen a few other bloggers take an August break from blogging and I thought to myself, that’s a good idea, but then didn’t plan on it. But my family and I have gotten bitten by the end of summer travel bug and I haven’t been able to keep up with my blogging like I usually do because we’ve been off having a fantastic August!

I don’t usually share too much about my life outside of crafting and sewing on this blog, but since I’ve been a bit sporadic this month, I thought I’d show you what I’ve been up too!


The first weekend of this month, we headed ended up with a random camp spot at this place that we probably would never have picked out for ourselves, but we had a good time! It was down on the Hood Canal, a bit south and west of Seattle. Max’s first tent camping experience! No that he’s new to camping! Oh, no, he’s been going since he was about 6 months. We usually have a little trailer where we camp. And I found a MASSIVE amount of sand dollars! I’ve never found a full sand dollar on the west coast. We also love our happy face rock!


Then we went to Bellingham, a nice getaway, but nothing spectacular. And then came the most fun weekend… Mt Rainier and Mt St Helens! Not long ago the kiddo had compared something to Mt Rainier and I realized that he had never been there! So we went! And the little kiddo climbed almost 1000 feet up Mt Rainier! It was awesome! I’ve wanted to see a marmot for YEARS and now I can say I saw one!


We stayed in a teepee! How cool is that? I’d seen it last year and knew we had to check it out. It just happened to be right between the two mountains. So the next day we headed to Mt St Helens. I thought it would be a little drive in, look around and drive back. Um…. It was that, but so much more than that. I was shocked at how cool it was. We went in through the blast side and the force of nature, 20 years later, is still magnificent! That white stuff in the lake… is trees. Thousands of trees uprooted from the blast! And we found a million frogs! Some still tadpoles. A fantastic science lesson for the kiddo!


We had such a great time that we came home on Monday night, figured out a road trip for the next weekend, and headed out again on Saturday. This time we headed east, to Eastern Washington. Again. Amazing! It’s so amazing how Seattle is this lush green place that you think of when you think of the Pacific Northwest. But the state changes dramatically as you drive over the Cascades Mountains! We headed east, visited friends, went fossil hunting and did some more camping! I was just in awe of the changing landscape the whole time! And back home on Tuesday night!


Soooo…. See why I haven’t been crafting and sewing too much this month? I hope you don’t mind! We did collect all sorts of things for crafting though. I just might have a sand dollar craft coming up…. And we collected a lot of driftwood down by the teepee for Driftwood Monsters and then we’re going to do a little crafting with our fossils too! Fun things coming up!

In short, I didn’t take a full on break, but I’ve been busy having a blast with the family and the blog hasn’t been top priority! Summer is winding down and I’ll be back full force in September with fun things!

Did you do much traveling this summer?


  1. Just wanted you to know that……I missed you! Looks like you and your family are having the best time ever! Enjoy your time off!

  2. This has been a great summer! Sounds like your trips were all really fun. Also, I have loved marmots for a long time… they are so adorable and roly poly.

  3. Yes I noticed! But I kind of knew where you were so didn’t feel too lost! So glad you had such fun and memorable family time – SO worth it!

  4. Such beautiful pictures and glad you had a wonderful time. I miss living in Seattle and seeing the mountains everyday. Some of my favorite pictures of my son were when we went up to Mt. Rainier when he was 18 months old. We’d planned on moving back this past month but life threw us an unexpected curveball and we moved to Orlando instead. It’s fun being near Disney but palm trees just don’t compare to the snow-capped mountain views. That’s why I live vicariously through you!

    • There is a beauty to the palm trees as well! We go to AL every spring and every spring we think about moving back to the south. Then summer hits here and we remember how beautiful it is here!

  5. Forgot to ask if you’ve ever taken the gondola up Crystal Mountain? Max would LOVE that! We stumbled upon that day excursion when the road up to Rainier was unexpectedly backed up and blocked. It has breathtaking views of Rainier as well.

  6. Wow it looks like you and the family had a wonderful adventure, fabulous photos the last one is my favourite with the flowers

    Angela – Garden Tea Cakes and Me

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

