Sew Ready to Play Pick Up Sticks

Yea! We’re on! Another series of Sew Ready to Play starts now!! Starting with Pick Up Sticks!

PickUpSticks-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

I’ve realized two things about myself and this series. The first one is I make actual games! I invite everyone and tell them to make something ‘inspired by’ their favorite games. Me. I seem to make the actual game! Last year I made a Memory game. This year a giant sized Pick Up Sticks! The second thing… We always seem to come up with the game while we’re camping. I have to say that the family helps me come up with my games!

PickUpSticks-Sticks-ImFeelinCrafty

We have had some fun with this one!

PickUpSticks-Throwing1-ImFeelinCrafty

So you throw them up as high as you can…

PickUpSticks-Throwing2-ImFeelinCrafty

Watch them drop! And of course, if they fall on you, they don’t hurt!

PickUpSticks-Playing-ImFeelinCrafty

And then play the game!

PickUpSticks-Materials-ImFeelinCrafty

They are super simple to make! I’ll show you how. All you need is different colored fabrics, a cutting device, the pattern and some stuffing (ok, a lot of stuffing that I forgot to put in the picture!).

PickUpSticks-Set1-ImFeelinCrafty

First, Fold your fabric. First in half, so that the seam allowances are together. Then over again.

PickUpSticks-Set2-ImFeelinCrafty

Secondly, lay out the pattern. Make sure the two sides that say to cut on fold are situated correctly on the folds.

PickUpSticks-Step3-ImFeelinCrafty

The third step is to cut. After I cut, I was sure I had done it wrong, so don’t get nervous! Just unfold and you should have exactly the right pieces!

PickUpSticks-Step4-ImFeelinCrafty

Fourth.. Sew the ends and the one side that isn’t the fold. Don’t forget to leave a hole for pulling through and stuffing.

PickUpSticks-Step5-ImFeelinCrafty

The fifth step is to trim the ends to help get the pointy-est ends possible.

PickUpSticks-Step6-ImFeelinCrafty

The sixth step is to pull it through itself, so right sides are out.

PickUpSticks-Step7-ImFeelinCrafty

Seventh Step- Stuff! This is where the whole process slows down a bit. And here are a couple of tips for stuffing the very ends. Don’t use a lot of stuffing at first. And secondly, I used my frixion pen to really get it in the tip. Other pens and sticks kinda go right through the stuffing. But I think maybe it’s the eraser at the end, but it really helps get the stuffing into the very tip.

PickUpSticks-Step8-ImFeelinCrafty

The last step is to hand stitch the hole closed.

PickUpSticks-Step9-ImFeelinCrafty

And then repeat! Over and over!

PickUpSticks-GIF-ImFeelinCrafty

And lastly… Take them outside and play!

PickUpSticks-PIllowFight-ImFeelinCrafty

And if you decide you’re tired of playing pick up sticks you can always have a super skinny pillow fight!

PickUpSticks-Smile-ImFeelinCrafty

Or you can pretend you’re a multi colored banana….

PickUpSticks-End-ImFeelinCrafty

And for the Pick Up Sticks Container and lid, we used a concrete forming tube  and wrapped it in poster board. Is Pick Up Sticks a favorite in your house?

SRTP-2013

Comments

  1. How fun! Looks like your little guy was having a blast. Loved the “video!”

  2. This was a game that always ended in accusations of cheating and sticks getting thrown at each other when played with my brother (actually, most games ended like that!). These ones look much safer!

  3. These are so cool! Now, lets see if you can make some over-sized jacks and a ball! 🙂

  4. I love it!! How fun would that be for a school carnival! I’ve got a Craft Gossip post scheduled for later this evening that links to your tutorial:
    http://sewing.craftgossip.com/tutorial-giant-fabric-pick-up-sticks-game/2013/09/10/
    –Anne

  5. Wonderful Louise! He’s having a grand old time, ain’t he? I know what my family would do with them. We’d for sure do the skinny pillow fight. No doubt in my mind. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] Up for a game of giant pick up sticks?  Louise Wackerman from I’m Feelin’ Crafty shows how you can make a set.  They’re made from fabric and stuffed with Polyfil, so there’s no worry about injuries or poked out eyes.  The photo here doesn’t show the scale, but in her tutorial you can see that these soft fabric “sticks” are nearly as tall as her young son.  This would make a fun game for backyard, or for a picnic, or maybe even a school carnival.   Go to I’m Feelin’ Crafty for her tutorial. […]

  2. […] Up for a game of giant pick up sticks?  Louise Wackerman from I’m Feelin’ Crafty shows how you can make a set.  They’re made from fabric and stuffed with Polyfil, so there’s no worry about injuries or poked out eyes.  The photo here doesn’t show the scale, but in her tutorial you can see that these soft fabric “sticks” are nearly as tall as her young son.  This would make a fun game for backyard, or for a picnic, or maybe even a school carnival.   Go to I’m Feelin’ Crafty for her tutorial. […]

  3. […] Pick up Sticks by Yours Truly […]

  4. […] Louise, who has been our Wednesday person here at Stash since February, has left us to pursue her other career in architecture. We’ll miss her and we’ll miss getting sneak-peeks at her projects. Remember the foxy skirt? That’s all Louise! Or what about this recent one – a set of giant Pick Up Sticks! […]

  5. […] to a handmade version of the game. I have a tendency to make handmade versions of the game, like pick up sticks and memory. I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with this year! It’s always so fun to […]

  6. […] to a handmade version of the game. I have a tendency to make handmade versions of the game, like pick up sticks and memory. I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with this year! It’s always so fun to […]

  7. […] to a handmade version of the game. I have a tendency to make handmade versions of the game, like pick up sticks and memory. I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with this year! It’s always so fun to […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

