Sew Ready to Play Twister with Cook Clean Craft

Are you ready for Day 2? And a little round of twister? Today I’d love to welcome my friend Narelle from Cook Clean Craft! We’ve been blogging friends for a few years now! Let’s just say I remember when her twister model was born! Um, yea! And she’s been a pro with the Sew Ready to Play Series! You’ll have to check out her Impossible Mission shirt and her Uno shorts. And be sure to check out her blog for all sorts of wonderful things!

Welcome, Narelle!!!

It’s funny when I’m invited to a themed event like this, inspiration strikes and I can’t get an idea out of my head. This time around, all I could think about was Twister. I don’t know why – I’ve never owned the game and was absolutely hopeless at playing it (flexibility and balance have never been my strong points!).


After a very literal interpretation of UNO and Commodore 64, I decided to go a little more abstract this time – and to make something for my daughter for a change too! Bright primary colours and circles were what came to mind, and this is what happened:

Twister Circle Skirt Finished (8)

Twister Circle Skirt-001

A bright, twirly circle skirt with matching applique T-shirt (based on the spinner from Twister).

Twister Circle Skirt Finished (5)twister_2

I really wanted white fabric with coloured spots, but couldn’t find any in all 4 Twister colours, so I ended up with the reverse prints (with two different-sized spots – close enough!).

Twister Circle Skirt Finished (4)

Celeste is a very pinky-pink kind of girl (with the occasional dash of purple), so I’m really enjoying seeing her primary colours for a change. She likes turning the skirt around to have different colours at the front! We’ll have to wait and see whether she keeps wearing it after the novelty wears off!

Here’s the tutorial for how I made it:


Twister Circle Skirt (2)

4 different coloured fabrics with spots – for the amount, see calculations below.

Fold-over elastic – waist measurement minus 1”

Kid’s T-shirt

Small piece of Heat and Bond (or similar for applique)


Sewing machine and Serger (optional)


First, a little calculation for how much fabric you need (including what I used for my almost 3yo):


Note: I discovered during this project that my 2yo pokes her belly out whenever I measure her so her waist measurement was way too big!

Using your measurements, measure and cut a quarter circle  of each fabric. I stacked the four fabrics and cut them all at once.

Twister Circle Skirt (3)

Then measure and cut the smaller quarter circle from each piece for the waist band.

Twister Circle Skirt (4)

Sew the four quarter circles together to make a full circle.

Twister Circle Skirt (5)

Press your seams after you’ve sewn them.

Sew your fold-over elastic into a circle.

Twister Circle Skirt (9)

Mark the quarter, half and three-quarter marks around your elastic from the seam. Line up each mark with a seam on the waist of the circle skirt, folding the elastic over the raw edges of the fabric. Stitch into place close to the lower edge of the elastic, stretching the elastic as you go to fit the fabric.

Twister Circle Skirt (10)

For a professional finish, hang the skirt on a hanger overnight before hemming. Since part of the circle is cut on the bias, the circle may stretch and distort when hung. If this happens, trim to get an even circle. I didn’t do this as I was running out of time and just wanted it finished!

Hemming a circle can be a problem as the section being folded up is bigger than the section above the fold. A rolled hem works well (if you’ve got a rolled hem foot for your sewing machine), or the tiniest hem you can fold. I used a trick on my serger. I set the differential feed higher than normal (1.25) and increased the needle tension to 4 (from my usual 3), leaving the looper tension at the normal values (3). I serged around the bottom of my circle skirt, resulting in the skirt hem being slightly gathered at the very bottom and naturally turning up.

Twister Circle Skirt (6)

Press your hem into place evenly around the bottom of the skirt.

Twister Circle Skirt (7)

Sew the hem into place.

Twister Circle Skirt (8)

For the T-shirt, I used the small circle cut out for the waist of the skirt, trimming it down to a good size for the T-shirt:

Twister Circle Skirt (11)

Iron Heat-n-Bond onto the back of the circle quarters.

Twister Circle Skirt (12)

Cut each section into 4 even pieces.

Twister Circle Skirt (13)

Arrange the pieces into a circle, alternating between the four different colours and press into place.

Twister Circle Skirt (14)

With a narrow and short zigzag stitch, sew around the outside of the circle and then the inside circle. This will make a smoother, more continuous circle.

Twister Circle Skirt (15)

Then stitch the inside lines between each colour, trying to catch a little of both colours with each row of stitching to hold it all in place. After doing a locking stitch at the end of each section, just move the fabric to the start of the next section, rather than pulling the whole piece out to cut the threads with each row of stitching. It saves a little bit of time and a little bit of thread.

Twister Circle Skirt (16)

Trim all your threads give it a good press and admire your handiwork!

Twister Circle Skirt (1)

And lets have one last look at my model wearing her Twister-inspired outfit:

Twister Circle Skirt Finished (6)

Thanks for having me Louise, and once again, inspiring me to make something a little different! Come visit Cook Clean Craft for more fun craft projects, along with recipes, and cleaning and organisation tips.


  1. Twister was one of my faves as a kid! What a cute little girl’s outfit. Looks like the skirt’s a real twirler!

  2. I could totally see being inspired by Twister. Great idea! She’s rocking that little outfit, Narelle. Such a pretty model!

  3. Thats so nice, thanks a lot for sharing!


  1. […] Twister by Narelle from Cook Clean Craft […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

