Sew Ready to Play Checkers with Sugar Bee Crafts

Today my special guest is Mandy from Sugar Bee Crafts! I’ve been following her blog for a long long time. I can’t even remember how I found out about it, but it doesn’t matter how. It matters that it’s very cool, with all sorts of sewing and craft projects. And some of my favorite sewing projects she does are her Halloween costumes! It’s not one costume here or there! It’s the whole family dressed as a theme! Love it! I can’t wait to see what they are planning for this Halloween! But in the meantime…..

Welcome Mandy!!

Hi Everyone!  I’m Mandy and I blog over at the super-cool blog, Sugar Bee Crafts – come see me over there!  I enjoy all things crafty, including sewing and games so of course I jumped at the chance to be a part of this series that puts the two together.  I tried to think of the most popular game at our house, which by far is checkers.  They all LOVE it!  And so I dreamed up the Checkers Skirt:

This would be super-easy to make if you had some large checkered fabric on hand.  But I didn’t.  It still wasn’t hard – let me walk you through it.

First I cut the black and the white fabric into 4 inch strips:

And I sewed them back together, alternating colors, like so:

Then, I turned those sewed strips on their side and again cut 4 inch strips, as shown:

Then I sewed those strips back together, being sure to stagger the black and white to make the checkerboard effect.  I cut off any excess to make a large rectangle and then sewed the short ends together (right sides together) to make a big tube/skirt form.

I made a casing at the top and inserted elastic:

And I serged (you could zig zag) the bottom hem and then covered it with some cute red lace as a fun accent:

For the pocket that plays off of a round checkerpiece, I cut 2 circles (just trace something you have sitting around, like a lid)

Then I sewed those two circles with right sides together, leaving an opening that is an inch or two wide.  Clip all around the seam to help it lay flatter, then turn the circle right-side out through the hole.

Sew it to the skirt, leaving the top of the circle unattached so that it will function as a pocket.

I love how it came out!!  Simple, but really makes a statement, and has a definite shout-out to our love of checkers!

Hope to see you over at Sugar Bee Crafts!

Craft Blogger


  1. Super cute!!


  1. […] Checkers by Mandy from Sugar Bee Crafts […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

