The Green Eileen Chop Challenge

I’m sure most everyone knows about Eileen Fisher, right? But do you know about Green Eileen?


Green Eileen is an Eileen Fisher store where they sell gently used Eileen Fisher clothing and all proceeds go to organizations to improve the lives of women and girls. There are three location and one is here in Seattle!


Recently our local store hosted a Green Eileen Chop Challenge! And yes, I had to get it on it! (and can’t wait to do it again.)


How is worked was easy. The shop gave all the participants a bag of gently used clothing that was just not up to par to be resold. We then took the bag and remade the clothing into whatever we wanted to make! Then they auctioned off all the pieces and the earnings went to a local group called Coyote Central, a group that helps young adolescents to build competence and creativity through hands-on workshops with professionals in  creative fields!


From my bag of clothing I was able to make 2 quilts! I am in love with my throw blanket size quilt!


When I picked up my bag they told be mine was super colorful! I’m not convinced, because most of it was grey and black. But I guess that was what a lot of other people got too! Anyway! I used a red sweater for the center square with a piece of yellow knit. The whites were a combination of linens and silks.


The grey’s and blacks that I used on the front were a mix of linen and knit and a lightweight denim. And I used the rest of the yellow tee for the binding. I was worried I wouldn’t have enough fabric to finish the whole piece, but I did. I wanted the yellow binding to be around the whole thing, but in hindsight, I actually love the two color binding!


The quilting started at the red square and wound it’s way around and around and around to the outside!


I love the back as well! My husband doesn’t really like it because he doesn’t like the velveteen fabric that the black is. But to me, it’s super soft and would feel awesome to snuggle up with! And then I used a little more of the red sweater and a bit more knit.


My son had fun with the left over sweater! And we might just have a new hoodie design here! I cut a strip out of the front of a turtle neck sweater… And Voila! The turtle neck is a perfect little hoodie or ear warmer….


And then the mini! This was totally inspired by a little fairy box my son made!


I love how the silk, linen and knit all work so well together!


And I figured out how to machine bind a quilt! This was the first time I had done it with out if looking like a child had done it! It’s all in the ironing of the binding. Iron the front, then fold over and clip!


The auction was a lot of fun! The whole time I was making mine, I was wondering what everyone else was making! Then to see it all together and all the creativity that went into the project was inspiring!

1. There were quite a few of the collar necklaces. I loved these two from Julia Barallo out of New Mexico.

2. And of course, a lot of the clothes were upcycled into, you guessed it, more clothes!

3 and 4. My most favorite pieces in the show were these two pieces from Leigh Krueger from here in Seattle. Number 3 is called the Shadowfold Star of David Rosette  and Number 4 is Shadowfold Scales, both are done in silk.

5. This dress was pretty cool too! I, unfortunately, didn’t get the artists name on this one. If you know who did it, please let me know!

6. Mine of course! The funny thing is, at first I couldn’t find it. I looked all over the place for it and was about to get a little angry. Then someone pointed out that it was hanging right up front. Right where everyone had to go to sign up for the auction. Right behind the counter!

7. The Batman hat and scarf by Morgan Brooks was super cool! It was all one piece and along the scarf was hand sewn on the skyline! Cool!

8. And how adorable are these huge stuffies??? The black sheep was awesome! The sheep was created by Christine Cassidy from Seattle and the adorable black teddy bear is by Kadee Banello (I think that’s the last name. Again, correct me if you can!) also from Seattle.

9. This is another one that I didn’t get the artists name, but I loved the little flower! IT’s just a cute t-shirt with a little embellishment! Perfect idea if you have a little hole or stain in a well loved t-shirt!

10. And lastly, I loved how these little pouches from Shannon Clock of 2 Little Birds Design out of Portland seemed to be smiling back at you! Don’t they look like little faces to you?

What would you make if you were given a bag of old clothes to repurpose???

Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. This looks like such fun! I love Eileen Fisher clothes; wish I lived near a Green Eileen!

  2. What an interesting challenge! Your quilt is my fav.😉

  3. What a fabulous idea, what a fabulous cause and what fabulous quilts you made. All round fabulous.

  4. Gee’s Bend vibe; Love it!

  5. LOVE your quilt! Totally reminds me of Gee’s Bend. Beauty eh?


  1. […] think, besides the Wonky Star quilt, my favorite one this year! The Green Eileen Chop Challenge quilt which is another one about 4×6 […]

  2. […] mine that I hung in the show. I love love love this one, that I originally made for a show at Green Eileene. It’s funny because when I made it, it was square. but with some love it appears to not be […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

