Seattle Modern Quilt Guild Retreat

Superbowl weekend I headed to Vashon Island for the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild’s first ever retreat!!


When we first planned the retreat we didn’t realize it was super bowl weekend. Then we figured it out and some knew they would leave early, but it wasn’t a big deal to most. And then it ended up becoming quite the big deal for a lot of us! And the rest of Seattle! Even the ferries were ‘In’!


image via A Quilter’s Table

After the ferry ride, I made to the retreat and found my ‘roomies’, my friend Debbie of A Quilter’s Table and her fun daughter, Rachel of Snippets of Sweetness! We had a great time getting to know each other even better than before!


Our buddy Kristen joked us all up with fantastic swag bags! We got candy! Discounts from Quality Sewing and vacuum, Pacific Fabrics, Island Quilter, Town Square Fabric and Yarn and Quilt Sandwich Fabrics. There were also cute notebooks, a key chain, a little scissor and measuring tape combo and fabric from Quilt Sandwich Fabrics and Gossypium Quilt Shop!


We had two lovely ladies in charge of planning some retreat activites that you could choose to participate in or not. And those lovely ladies were myself (hehehe) and my new friend Vicki of Sew Inspired Blog! One of the activites was a hand sewn project Dirty Santa! Do you play Dirty Santa at Christmas?? This was a lot of fun!! Usually have of the presents are silly, but with this one all the presents were things people had made, os I don’t thin kthere would any way anyone would go home dissapointted. I made the lovely lily pad bowl and plate designed by my friend and sponsor, Michelle of Michelle Made Me.


I admit, I did a little stealing to get this pouch from another friend Chandra of Mildly Gifted! I was needing a bigger pouch for my little carry around project that I, obviously, carry around with me. It’s outgrowing my current pouch. So I needed a new one and I loved this one! Perfect! I was holding my breath that no one would steal it from me! And it turns out that that the adorable little polaroid bits glow in the dark! Who knew!


We stayed a wonderful location, Camp Burton on Vashon Island. The ‘dorm’ was right next to our sewing space. And the dining room was just a 3 minute walk away! And all of this overlooked the water. Although, I didn’t pay much attention to the beautiful surroundings since I was sewing SO MUCH!


image via A Quilter’s Table

We did walk down to the water for a few minutes on Sunday with Debbie, Vicki and Kristen!


But otherwise, if I wasn’t eating or sleeping, I was sewing, just down the table from Debbie! You can see what I was working on here.

Another project we had for people to participate in was a Round Robin session. Some of our guild had done this at Quiltcon, I think, and then did it again amongst themselves. The one we did at the retreat was in groups of 4 and timed. Before we started we sat and talked about our fabric. We brought our own fabric and let people know if they could and to it or not! We had about 15 minutes to make our own start. Then we passed our started piece and our pile of fabric to the next person. Then we had about 30 minutes before we traded again. We worked on each others for about 30 minutes.


I took before and after pictures of each of my rounds. The before pictures are the what the piece looked like when it got to me. the alters are after I was done…


The are the four final pieces from our group.


And this is all eight of the finished round robin improve session! I want to do a session at home. Anyone want to join me???


image via A Quilter’s Table

Aren’t we a cute group? We are a fantastically talented group, that’s for sure! (You can see a bit of what we all do here) It was such an amazing weekend. I really felt like I got to know more people, but really got to know them better. I feel like I made so many new friends. I knew most everyone before I left for the retreat, but when I headed home, I was leaving new friends, not just guild acquaintances! And talk about inspiring! I was inspired by so many of these women and on such different levels! I cant’ wait to do it again! Thank you ladies!


  1. What a great post! Such fun times and lovely memories. So glad we got to be roomies too. That was really fun!

  2. the most wonderful post!! I like the retreat even better after seeing all this here. what fun we had and Louise, you are one talented chick! can’t wait for more meet-ups like this! a blessed weekend for sure for all of us! thanks for posting such great pics and stories. love our beach photo (thanks Debbie🙂

  3. You guys have a great group, looks like lots of fun. I was looking at Debbie’s photos last week and also your guilds riley blake challenge – wonderful🙂

  4. Great post…I would love to do another round robin with you.🙂 I kind of wish I had taken pictures of my round robin pieces as I took my turns, too, that was a good idea. I didn’t take many photos at all though.
    I’m glad I got to sit by you and get to know you a little more!

    • I know me too! I had fun sitting with you! Even if you did call me dull! hehehe!!! that was funny! I didn’t take many pictures either. I wish I had gotten more of everyone hanging out and sewing! You’re on for another round robin! Let’s see if we can find a couple more people.

  5. Omgh! Your post is making me so homesick! I went to Camp Fire camp at Camp Burton when I was little! I so remember that large building – it was the dining hall! Sounds like you had a great time in such a lovely setting!

  6. Wow, what a really thoughtful blog post, especially documenting all the round robin rounds! It meant a lot to me that someone actually stole the pouch at the retreat. I hope you can stuff lots of notions in it.🙂


  1. […] center of the back was from a Round Robin I participated in at a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild retreat. I started it and then three other added […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

