The MQG Riley Blake Challenge

There are perks to being in a quilt guild for sure! Not to mention the friends you make, the amazing retreats you get to go on or even the great shows you can have…. But there’s free fabric involved too!!



This Riley Blake challenge was just that! A challenge! When the guild has fabric challenges the manufacturer will supply each member with a little bundle of fabrics. Typically I’ve gotten little adorable bundles of 6 to 8 fat eighths and then you can make something! You can use just what’s given or you can add it to depending on the challenge ‘rules’.


This challenge was hosted by Riley Blake using fabrics from their Basics Category.. I blindly signed up for the challenge before I had seen the fabrics. I actually really like all of them, but together? At first I was a bit stumped!


I kept putting it off because I had no idea what I was going to do with this little bundle sitting on my sewing table. Then, as I mentioned before, my husband said, ‘make a bag. You love bags.’ I do love bags and I had been wanting to make a big bag to carry my quilts around while I am binding them. Or to take to Show and Tell at our guild meetings…


So I set off to make a bag. I had had this design drawn a year ago with some flying geese, so I thought why not! I used this tutorial for no waste flying geese that I love!

The rules state that you can add more of the line or solids. So I did add solids. A bunch of solids. The orange to the outside and the inside is mostly solid teal and yellow.


I did add some solids and the zombie fabric also from Riley Blake. At our quilt guild retreat I had seen Carrie Ellens using this fabric in her Riley Blake challenge quilt, and I loved it so, I had to add some into mine. The day after I got home I went to one of my local shops (right down the hill from me, how convient) and picked up a little bit!





On the inside I added a couplke of quilting pockets. One for scissors and a seam ripper. And one with Velcro to hold my hair clips that I use for holding the binding in place.


I also added a little needle holder! Right now in my little quilting bag, I just stick them in the side and I have found myself getting stuck. I’m hoping this will help!


I wanted the bag to be big, but I wasn’t actually planning on it being this big! But I think it will work for what I need.


I can’t decide if I like the front or the back best!

Shared with these Link Parties!


  1. Very fun! I love the solids you chose to mix in AND the quilting – love it!!

  2. It’s a fabulous bag! What did you use for straps?

    • Thank you! Ya know, I’m not 100% sure what it is! It is webbing, but I had never seen any like this before. It looks like a cross between ribbon and webbing! Next time I’m there I’ll get more details!

  3. shhh, don’t tell anyone, but yours is my absolute favorite of all the RB challenge entries! 🙂

  4. What a fantastic bag, I love everything about it.

  5. I love this bag! I’ve been looking for something I can throw over my shoulder to hold my knitting stash. Great look! Found you at the TT&J link part palooza!

  6. OMG I love this bag and all those pockets inside! LOVE!

  7. This is great – can you share the measurements for this one? I need a nice big bag. Thanks!

  8. Stephanie C. says:

    I’d love a basic tutorial with dimensions or something!

  9. Lovely, Lovely, Lovely!


  1. […] sure to check out the original post, if you missed it, for more details and […]

  2. […] February I made this huge tote for carrying my quilts around while I’m sewing on the binding and I just love […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

