A Crazy Crown Tutorial with Sculpey

Not long ago I received the opportunity to receive some fun Sculpey projects if I will make something with them. Um…. Trust me, this family can make things with just about anything and clay was a super hit!  Sculpey-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

The day the mail came was such a surprise!


I hadn’t told my son that we were getting the package. And it turns out that they had been making things with clay st school and he had just asked Dad for clay to have at home! And viola… Sculpey Clay appears at our house!


We got right to work! We’ve made quite a few creatures since we’ve had the clay, but these are the creatures we made the first night. Unfortunately, I’m not writing a tutorial on making creatures, because I’ve still got a lot to learn on that subject. Most of these guys have brown sense we made them!! Oops! I know there is a trick….. But we haven’t figured it out yet! The two end creatures are the kiddos, mine’s the blue one and Dad made the penguin!


So since we haven’t mastered figures, wanna make a crazy crown with me???


Basically, I used the clay, the Sculpey tools, a glass, wax paper and some elastic!


The little glass I have was the perfect size for me. It might have been a little big for the kiddo, but it worked! I wrapped the glass in the wax paper.


Then we got to work rolling out the stripes. You kinda knead the clay for a while, then roll it into a worm and then flatten.



Wrap the clay around the glass. And repeat for however many layers you want to do.


I was pretty into moving along, while my partner was more into chatting and singing and movin’ like a turtle and sculpting with his feet in his Hulk costume!


And roll it out! One thing I did learn with my creatures is that the clay needs to be worked together, not just pushed together! You might be saying, how did she not know that??? Remember, sewing is more my thing than clay… Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving the clay, I just don’t know as much about it!!!



And emblish! I used the carving tool for the points, a rolling stamp for the texture and the fun little cookie cutter like pieces for the sea stars.


The tricky part…. Removing the glass is easy, but removing the wax paper is a bit trickier! The clay will stick to the wax paper, but just move slowly and pull it away to retain the shape of the crown!


Poke holes in the side. I poked two on each side. Then bake per directions!



Thread your elastic through the holes. I used a 33″ piece of elastic. I ran it through two holes on each side, just to give it a bit more stability on the noggin’.


And viola! The Crazy Crown! The kiddo also made a rolled clay crown. We love our crowns! Which one is your favorite?



What a fun time! We’ve really had some great family crafting with this project! And I know we’ll have more! What would you make if you got a box full of Sculpey fun???


I have been compensated with either payment or product for this post. All opinions are my own, honest opinions!




  1. I love the photographs of you and your son! You guys were having soooo much fun! I would have LOVED to have received this huge box of Sculpey clay! Your craft projects turned out so beautiful! ❤

  2. Sarah Helene says:

    FUN FUN FUN . . . mom & son! COOL way to create & spend time together, right? All your little creatures are CUTE … making many many more! Actually during wintertime or rainy days, this is a FAB activity. Thanks for sharing. Sarah, Minneapolis


  1. […] back when I shared our Sculpey Crazy Crowns? When we made those crazy crowns, we also made a Wonder Woman […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

