A Sewing Fail Revived!

Do you remember this project?


It was my Tic Tac Toe game shirt I made for Season 2 of Sew Ready to Play. The Tic Tac Toe game itself was designed by my husband and is totally cool. The game itself wasn’t a fail. It gets played with still. But as a shirt…. Never got worn…. I should have known from that look on the kiddos face, huh?


So for my first day of Kids Clothes Week, I’m bringing it back as a plain old t-shirt. I didn’t make the shirt. But I did use my seam ripper to remove all the Velcro. So that’s partly sewing right?


Ok, here’s the deal. This is my sewing room. Piles ‘o projects! See the shelves of fabric? See all the piles in front of the shelves of fabric? That’s all projects in the works. I’m really trying to finish all these projects this year. One thing that isn’t in the picture is a bag of projects that needed mending. So my first night of KCW was spent planning and going through my mending bag to see what I needed to fix. A couple of things just went away.


And then there were these two sweaters… Both had holes in them at some seams. So no knitting involved, just two quick stitches. The one on the bottom has been in the bag for over a year and it took a whole 2 minutes to fix… Why do I do this??? Wait so long for a 5 minute project??? I don’t know!


And then I found the orange striped t-shirt!


I saw that it was actually a 4T. Not so sure why I had my2 year old wearing it back then, but it still fits. Maybe not for long, the sleeves are getting a bit short. but Hey for the rest of spring, my son has a new shirt and it’s so soft. He wouldn’t take it off!


So day one of KCW, I did some planning and mending and reviving a failed project. It might not be new from scratch, but it’s Kids Clothes!

Did you make anything?


  1. Your son is such a cutie! I think he likes to pose for you. Some times a t-shirt does not need embellishments to fall in love with it.❤

  2. Sarah Helene says:

    Your son looks HAPPY to wear a “plain” T-shirt, bright orange with white stripes. Thanks for sharing. Your sewing & crafting space seems IDEAL for creating as you do every day! Sarah in Minneapolis

  3. I sure did – I made up my mind to make a list of all sewing & stitching projects (commonly called UFO’s (unfinished objects)) that had been started. The good news was that I had separated the two groups. The bad news is that I won’t be able to start a new project until some time in 2025! Uh huh! On my cutting table is a wonderful stash of 7 different fabrics bought at Black Friday sales. The pieces that I can remember what I wanted to make up, I am sewing up to get them off the table. I just pinned out an overall pattern for my granddaughter in a buttery soft corduroy . It is for this coming winter but I know what I wanted to make of it, so what’s that quote? Get It Done! So while I am sewing for her, I am making my first chatelaine, but then there is this really cute card holder/purse that I can cut out the different parts for it from the leftovers of the material I cut up. I sewed up the baby blanket that I had squared off last night (very proud of my self cos it is done!). I really am trying to complete my projects before starting new ones. Part of the challenge is that babies keep growing bigger or older or taller, so I can’t wait too long to get her clothes made before the garden & lawn call me out to play & work out there also.
    Gail in McDonough, Ga

  4. Margaret Beard says:

    congratulations on getting all that done! my sewing room looks a lot like yours and I’m not even sewing for anyone other than my family! 

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

