A Superhero Dog Cape

And not just any Superhero….


Wonder Woman! Yes, as you know, I have a thing for the woman with the invisible plane!


This is actually a Christmas present that I never showed you. On my son’s Christmas List, there is a space to fill out for Santa to bring something to a friend. Last year the kiddo asked Santa to bring our dog, Miss Gilbert, a Wonder Woman cape. And that he did. Santa is good like that with handmade gifts.


So, I’ve studied the cape and I’ll tell you what I can about hoe he made it. It looks as though he downloaded a WW logo from online, like this one maybe. And then cut it out of felt. The yellow pieces are sewn onto the black and then black was sewn onto the red cape fabric.


We do have our own Elf on the Shelf, so I can only figure that he’s the one that measured Miss G for Santa and his helpers. They probably took measurements down her back and around her tummy. The cape goes about half way around her body or so. Then the strap that goes around her tummy and neck are both secured by Velcro.


I can’t find the pattern he used. (He must have kept it in case there are more requests for this year.) If your interested in the pattern let me know and I can probably recreate it. Actually I’m going to pretty soon, because she needs one for the rain!


The little lady seems to not mind it too much. Or at all actually. As long as she can sniff everything on our walks, she doesn’t seem to care what she’s wearing! I’m thinking she needs a rain coat one, too!

I do love how Santa really keeps to the list that the kiddo at our house writes. And I know it’s special to the kiddo to open the handmade presents that he has requested!


  1. Oh boy, you know that I would be LOVING this doggie cape for sure! Now I want one for Nikita and Bella! They are “super” dogs, so why not wear a super hero’s cape! I want to make them rain coats too, so if you can ever find a rain coat pattern that you can size for different dogs, please forward it on to me! Miss Gilbert is adorable by the way! ❤

  2. well, isn’t she adorable—and heroic! I bet she does love her cape…I made a superhero cape/coat for Stars and whenever he wears it, his chest is puffed out just a bit and he looks around for something to defend from (usually squirrels). He doesn’t like me to take it off either!

  3. You’re so funny….and awesome!! Santa really stepped it up a notch…


  1. […] May I blogged about this fun little dog cape that ‘Santa’ had brought to the […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

