Sew-A-Bration of Womanhood!

I have loved getting to know the ladies over at Shaffer Sisters, so when they asked me to participate in their Sew-a-Bration of Womanhood series I was honored!


The series is hosted by Shaffer Sisters and Call Ajaire and is all about women taking the time to sew for women, whether it’s making themselves something or something for some another woman, and the struggles that sometimes get in our way.


I know my biggest struggle in sewing for myself is myself! My weight has become a huge struggle for me over the last few years, so making something for my self and getting behind the camera or in front of a mirror isn’t something I get very ecited about! But I signed up to do this and I didn’t want to break my commitment.


One of the questions the ladies asked was, ‘What has been the biggest challenge with this project? And how did you over come it.’ My biggest challenge is taking the time for myself. I guess in a way all my sewing and blogging and photography is taking time for myself in that it’s all doing things I love. But I rarely make anything for me. Mostly because those darn mirrors…. For 2 years now I’ve been saying that I am going to take more time and sew for myself. And I haven’t done it. That is until I was asked to participate in this event! And how did I overcome it? I just did it! I had a deadline for someone else, and I just did it! Stop and do it!

Not long ago I won a giveaway from Sew, Mama, Sew for two sewing books. Both were about making clothes for yourself without patterns. One of the books was DIY Couture: Create Your Own Fashion Collection. At first I thought it was kinda silly stuff. But then I started really looking at it and it’s AWESOME! I love it! SO the book has about 10 or so designs. But then each design is detailed a bit different in 6 or so different collections. Basically it gives you a bunch of different ideas of how to detail the basic design to what you want. I made the goddess dress which is 2 rectangles. That’s it!


It’s a bit shorter than I planned. So I won’t be wearing it to work or anything. But it’s perfect for the beach or a day in the sun! The top part is a bit too narrow, so I want to redo that and make it a bit wider so it’s more comfortable for me to wear without worrying if any body parts are hanging free!!


But I did it! Finally after all these years of saying I’m going to sew clothes for myself, I finally made me something! And not even that. I made myself something. And I let my picture be taken wearing it. And I posted it. If I can do it, you can do it!

What have you been wanting to make for yourself? I’d love to know! And be sure to check out what everyone is making!


  1. Congratulations on taking the time out for you – isn’t it amazing what we learn when we stop and do something for ourselves? You look radiant in these photographs! I recently made some changes in my life to help take more time for myself. One of my biggest commitments is to take time every morning to stretch and meditate, and giving myself permission to do that was hard. Thank you so much for following through and sharing your story!!

  2. Lookin’ fine and crafty, Lou! Xo

  3. Christine says:

    Kudos to you….you and the dress are beautiful!

  4. Yeah for you! You certainly deserve to take a little time to make yourself something. One of these days I’m going to do the same! Now get yourself to the beach and enjoy a little down time! SO PROUD OF YOU!!

  5. Michelle says:

    I admire your courage, I’ve been having the same conversations with myself. You look lovely in your dress. Now I am going to try and make one. This would be a great item to make and have to put on, on those hot Seattle summer days, when one gets home from work and just wants to relax and cool down a bit. Thank you!

  6. Sarah Helene says:

    GLAD to see you wearing one of your “creations,” yes, sewn for you! LOVE these 2 fabrics & colors. Looks like an ideal sundress for summertime. Your photos are so sharp! You made time to celebrate yourself by participating in this “Sew-A-Bration of Womanhood!” THNAKS for sharing. I love your blog. Sarah in Minneapolis

    • Thank you! I forgot to mention in my post that the fabric is from an blanket that my grandmother used to use at the beach house. The skirt is the border and the top is the middle! And I should have given my husband credit for the photography!!🙂 Thank you for reading!

  7. Louise, it’s so cute!! and You look fabulous in your work!!
    I love the fabrics you chose…..

    I sewed something for myself for the first time about 2 mos ago….and now, I’m itching to do it again!
    Hope you do for yourself too❤


  8. Lynne Tilley says:

    Oh my gosh! That is just Sooo Cute!! I love it. You’d never find one that cute in the stores. I hate shopping for suits! Beautiful job on that!!

  9. I LOVE the dress! I have been wanting to make clothes for myself for a while now and you have inspired me to get started! I will definitely be checking out the DIY Couture book! Thanks for being brave🙂

  10. Very cute and summery!

  11. Narelle @CookCleanCraft says:

    So nice to SEE you on your blog, Louise!

    I’ve got all this fabric for different things I want to sew for myself, but I can’t get past fitting my basic bodice/muslin. I’ve been so disappointed with fit on things I’ve sewn previously that I want to get it right (and I like my clothes fitted). But I’m going at a snail’s pace – a little bit of perfection-induced paralysis. But I’m sure I’ll get there!

  12. Deirdre Cunningham says:

    well done!!! You are brave – I hate mirrors & photos too! I dont make for myself, the kids always need something. So now we’ll expect more from you – for you!

  13. Oh, Louise ~ I LOVE this on you! Just beautiful.

  14. Thank you for such an inspirational post! I’m not too happy with my own shape right now either, so it’s nice to be reminded that it shouldn’t be an excuse not to take time to create for myself!

  15. Congrats on making yourself something. I have fabric for a skirt and for a dress that I really want to make up. I haven’t sewn anything for myself in years; here’s hoping that I remember how to do zippers, etc.! I’ve got a couple health issues, which means that my weight yo-yo’s pretty bad, and the reason I laid off making myself things was because they might not fit in 6 months.😦 But at this point I think I just need to bite the bullet and try to do something, even if it doesn’t for forever.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

