The Rose Skirt by Filles a Maman

I’ve been having fun sewing for my nieces! For an only child (me) I sure to have a bunch of nieces! Ok, they technically aren’t, but by love they are! I can’t wait to show you the adorable little Rose Skirt I made for one of my Florida girls!


I loved this little pattern and it was so easy! I mean like probably an hour easy!


I though it was cute when I saw it online, but then when I saw the pattern I got a bit scared… The pleats threw fear in my face! But I went ahead and decided to go for it. And boy was I wrong! Um… super simple!


And it seemed to be super comfy on the little lady as well! The knit I used is super soft on the inside! I forget know where I got the popsiclie fabric, which was also well received. The top and bottom bands were an old shirt.



The pattern has instruction for both with pockets and without. I originally planned for pockets. Here’s the deal. Before we went on vacation I was working away and trying to deny that there was something wrong with my sewing machine. When I finally gave into the truth I stopped sewing. Then I decided to cut all my projects that I wanted to sew and I’d take the fabric with me. So for this one I cut it for without pockets just in case. But I also cut the pockets out too. But I had them the contrast color. Then when I set to putting it together, I didn’t think I’d like the pockets the contrast color so I left them out!


The little lady had a good time in this skirt! We played super heros, went to the beach and made sand cupcakes and even taught her to fish in it! She was pretty good at the whole casting thing!!


I loved seeing the skirt get worn and enjoyed! Now if we could only all go back to the beach together!

If you have a little girl and want an adorable skirt that is super easy to make… The Rose Skirt is your answer! It’s even adorable just hanging on the hanger! Thanks Mel for letting me try it out!



I have been compensated with either payment or product for this post. All opinions are my own, honest opinions!


  1. Super cute!

  2. She wants to wear this all the time. The other day, she wore it with her lavender kitty shirt because “it don’t matter if it matches mommy.”:-)

  3. Such a fun little skirt! I’ll bet it gets worn a lot as comfortable as it is.


  1. […] for women by Filles a Maman. She sent out a call for testers and I signed up! I loved her little Rose skirt that I made earlier this year, so I wanted to try out the grown up […]

  2. […] her pattern work around this here blog a couple of times. She is the pattern designer behind the Rose Skirt and the Mimi Top! Be sure to check out her other awesome patterns in her etsy shop! She has been […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

