The 10 Minute Bow Tie- A Tutorial

I loved the bow tie I made the kiddo back at Easter and I said I’d show you how I did it! So now I will!

BowTie-Title-ImFeelinCrafty

The kiddo loved his, but was playing with the first one I made him. And lost it at church that morning. So he asked if I could make another one. Of course I could! He needed it! That’s when I realized it really only took me about 10 minutes!

BowTie-Step1-ImFeelinCrafty

First, You’ll need hair clips, fabric, hot glue, pinking shears and cutting supplies.

BowTie-Step2-ImFeelinCrafty

Secondly, cut the pieces. You’ll need one piece for the bow that’s  10.5 x 4 inches. And another piece that’s  5 x 2 inches for the middle, tie, part.

BowTie-Step3-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 3, sew both pieces together, right sides together, along the long side.

BowTie-Step4-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 4, Turn the pieces right side out and iron with the seam centered on the back.

BowTie-Step5-ImFeelinCrafty

BowTie-Step5a-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 5, Pinch the bow fabric together in the front and I like to put a little hot glue here to hold the folds together.

BowTie-Step6-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 6, Fold the bow fabric together with the ends overlapping about 1/4 inch or so.

BowTie-Step9-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 7, Hot glue the hair clip and one end of the tie fabric together on the back.

BowTie-Step8-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 8, Pull the tie fabric tight around the front. Make sure the tie is situated how you want it to be.

BowTie-Step10-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 9, Add another spot of hot glue on or right past the hair clip. Pull the tie fabric through and secure it.

BowTie-Step12-ImFeelinCrafty

Step 10, Trim the extra fabric with the pinking shears. And you’re ready to go!

BowTie-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

Ok… Me and my red hair that’s turning white WAY to early didn’t really wear the bow tie… But it could be a hair bow too!

Easter-Closeup-ImFeelinCrafty

Kids Clothes week is coming up, so be sure to add a bow tie to your list!

 

Comments

  1. So cute and dapper, and I love that your son asked for another. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] April I did a tutorial on the little bow tie that I made the kiddo! I really loved his whole Easter outfit that this came […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

