Michael Miller Petal Pinwheels Challenge

This summer our local Modern Quilt Guild took on the National Quilt Guild challenge, hosted by Michael Miller fabrics using their Petal Pinwheels line! I love the line! very much….


And I decided to make place-mats! Do you remember the place-mats I received in a swap last year? We love them and use them all the time. So I wanted more. The colors in this line coordinate with the ones I received, so that helped nail me down on what exactly what I was doing for my challenge project. She used a mix of paper piecing and improv, so so did I!


We were all given this adorable tiny little bundle of fabric! Like I said, I love the fabric…. BUT…. I decided to cheat. I love the fabric (did I mention that?), but I didn’t want to buy more new so I used my stash of low volume. One of the rules was that you can only add in any solid or Michael Miller printed fabric. My low volumes are who knows what… Not necessarily Michael Miller. (sorry).



The first one I did used a little paper piecing pattern I love made into a bigger block I made up, and mixed with a little improv! The paper piecing pattern is the little triangle pieces, called Mini Trajectory by Simply Cotton. It’s a free pattern on Craftsy! Go get it! So I made four of these little guys and then added in 1.5 inch pieces between the paper pieced pieces. Then just filled in with a bit of improv to get to my final size of 12 by 16 inches.




This one is similar to the first in that it started with a paper piecing pattern and then improv finished it off. This pattern is another free one from Craftsy. It’s another small one. I made 4 and put them together. It’s the 4 inch kaleidoscope block from Red Pepper Quilts. I quilted it based on the kaleidoscope and pulled my lines from that. But see that little circle from the center of a flower??? In hindsight I wish I had done the circle quilting on this one… (keep reading and check out my circle quilting!)



Place-mat 3. Squares on squares on squares. I started with itty bitty squares in the center, surrounded by squares twice as big as the middle and then on the side, 2 more squares that are twice as big as the middle sized squares! Wow, that felt like a long sentence! I was going to use this one to practice my free motion quilting, but got scared and stuck with lines…. One thing we really love about the swap place-mats is the free motion quilting…



The last one is my favorite and my husbands! I think it’s the contrast… Again, a bit of paper piecing with improv! This pattern is a free pattern from Wombat Quilts, the Star String Paper Pieced Pattern. I did have to scale the pattern down a bit. The pattern makes a 12 inch block, but I needed a 10ish inch pattern. Then I did a sort of log cabin around it. And here comes the circle quilting! I’ve been seeing a lot of it around the quilting world lately and I wanted to give it a shot. Love it!


And then we had a tester! They work! When I first received the place-mats, I didn’t know if I’d be able to use them. They were so pretty! But once you take plunge, you’ll do it too! Make your own place-mats!!!

You can check out the national winners of the challenge here.

And this is my first finish in the Third Quarter Finish-Along!! Can I finish anything else on my list???


  1. These are terrific and the final one if my favorite too. So glad “they work!”😉 We have (& use) placemats I made too!

  2. thelittlestthistle says:

    Congrats on the finish🙂


  1. […] one is the same paper piecing pattern I used for one of my place mats, called Mini Trajectory by Simply Cotton. It’s a free pattern on […]

  2. […] by Simply Cotton! I’ve used it before a few times… Once for a do Good block, I made a placemat for us with it and I used it for my paper piecing […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

