The Mimi for Women!

I sewed something for me again the other day!


It’s the Mimi for women by Filles a Maman. She sent out a call for testers and I signed up! I loved her little Rose skirt that I made earlier this year, so I wanted to try out the grown up pattern!


The Mimi top is a pattern that she’s had in her shop for kids for a while, but now she’s releasing it for grown ups! Being on the larger side, I love promoting patterns that go up to my size. And I think this one is flattering even for me!


The pattern says it’s for confident beginners, and that’s pretty right on. If it wasn’t for the knit part, I think it would be easy for any beginner. Not that sewing with knits is hard, but it can be intimidating to some. Otherwise, easy peasy! I also love that there are options. The pattern also has an option to make it into a dress, but I opted for just the top. And there are also options for the collar, the key hole, the button, the little peter pan like collar and the fringe option.


Obviously, I went for the key hole with a button collar option. One tester did just the key hole without the button and the top just opens and lays so nice with the contrasting . I think I want to try that next time!


I didn’t change a thing. I didn’t change the length, nothing. And it fits me perfect! This fabric is technically my muslin, but I love it and have worn it out and about, just like it is!


I highly recommend the pattern! It’s a creative take on the basic tee. It’s an easy and quick sew. And it’s been pretty right on for all the testers sizes. Go ahead, buy it here!

I have been compensated with either payment or product for this post. All opinions are my own, honest opinions!


  1. Love the neck detail in this, and the color. Looks like something I’d be able to do, as I feel like a ‘confident beginner’ in clothing making.

  2. I’m so glad to see that you are continuing to sew for yourself!
    Awesome top so I had to buy the pattern myself. Wish me good luck!

  3. I really like this top! It would look good on me too!
    I like that it’s long….I’m not short, but tall enough that some tops fall short and there’s nothing worse than a top that hits in the exact wrong spot!
    The keyhole is super cute!
    It looks great on you and that color is perfect!

  4. Hey that looks great🙂 Well done you xx

  5. You are too cute! I love that top and the dress looks like it would be really cute too. Maybe I’ll pretend I’m confident and try this out.

  6. very cute! the top is too!🙂


  1. […] around this here blog a couple of times. She is the pattern designer behind the Rose Skirt and the Mimi Top! Be sure to check out her other awesome patterns in her etsy shop! She has been such fun to work […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

