Chutes and Ladders Superhero Edition by Begin With B

And today it’s another Project Run and Play star joining us today!! Today’s guest is Jacqueline from Begin with B! If you didn’t follow along for our season of PRP, you should check out her projects here! they were fanatstic! We bonded pretty fast since we live in the same city! And we’ve been trying to get together ever since…. One day soon…. Jacqueline sews for her three boys and runs runs runs with them! I love watching thier escapes on IG!

Welcome Jacqueline!!!!


Oh games….I LOVE games. I have many childhood memories playing games with my family, especially my grandmother. To this day my boys will ask to get a game out and I get excited. Mouse Trap, Don’t Break the Ice, Chutes and Ladders, and Rock, Paper, Scissors are the most frequent requests. So when I had to pick one- it was hard!

I almost went with Mouse Trap but we don’t ever actually play the game. We set up the crazy contraption, we crank, hit the stop sign and watch the marbles roll to drop the trap. But as far as the actual game….I have no idea how to play! We never did as kids either- the contraption was the biggest draw.

Decided to go with Chutes and Ladders instead. Our version isn’t the old school one though- it’s superhero. Mae picked it out long before he was old enough to be into superheroes. Long before he started introducing himself as Captain America or Batman. But it is easily one of the most played games we own.

What I love about this game it is always so much more than just the superheroes climbing ladders and sliding chutes. Every time we play it turns into these heroes hoping onto toy firetrucks and rushing to a fire. Or driving the crane truck to rescue the mice stuck under the trap. The game pieces become alive for our boys and the game board is left behind.  I wanted to create something that would extend this play even further but be wearable everyday.

With the Dark Knight image in my mind I set to work to create a tee that was not a costume but would still allow Mae to pretend. I started with a black burnout knit that I ironed a knit interfacing onto the backside. This allows sewing to go much more smoothly and gives the knit (which is so thin!) a bit more weight.

Next I created a half batman drawn on freezer paper- to make sure that both sides were symmetrical. I then ironed the freezer paper onto the knit/interfacing piece and then cut. At this point you should have a sandwich with interfacing, then knit, then freezer paper- all in the shape of batman. Tear off the freezer paper and you’re ready to move to the tee.

Before sewing I used wonder tape to attach the points- knowing they would be finicky under the feed dogs of my machine. Then sewed with a zigzag around the the edges- working slowly.

This shirt is much loved. It has gone through the wash a few times already and the appliqué has held up great. And of course a few other tees have been requested.

Thanks so much for having me!!


  1. what a super fun series!!! I love the idea.. and this shirt is great! my boys would love it!! I’d love to join if you ever need more sewists ;o) Emily

  2. That’s so perfect for a boy! Love it!

  3. Are you taking any more guest bloggers?


  1. […] Chutes and Ladders by Jacqueline from Begin with B […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

