Dominos with Simple Simon and Company

Today I’m so excited to welcome liZ, one of the two, from Simple Simon and Company! The ladies behind one of my favorite blogs! I’ve read for so much beautiful inspiration for those times I decide to sew for the nieces. There’s just a real elegance going on over there! I’m sure I’ve said it before, but my all time favorite project from their blog is the Audrey Cape! So pretty and so simple to make!
Welcome liZ!!!
I’m liZ (one of the two Elizabeth’s) from over at Simple Simon and Company and we are so happy to be joining Louise again this year for her Sew Ready to Play series!
I had visions this year of what I was going to make….and I was in love with my plan…and then real life happened, plans were changed, and Grace ended up choosing what we made for the final project.
Which I still like…but people….I’m telling you my other idea was awesomeness…so I guess Louise will just have to invite us back again next year🙂
Anyways, back story aside, the outfit we put together today for Sew Ready to Play is a Domino inspired look.
Our kids are into playing Dominos right now.  (So much so that we made them a giant set for Christmas last year.)  And Grace thought this giant polka dot fabric that I had in my stash was perfect for a Domino skirt.
The skirt we made is a simple colored blocked skirt with an elastic waistband and then she paired it with her favorite leggings (from Target, not handmade), a hand-me-down T-shirt, and a black blazer from last year.
She was pretty proud of the styling.  Her whole outfit was black and white….and it has the dots on the skirt….and the stripe on her leggings….and the solid on her blazer….
This is how she looked when she wore it to school this morning.
And I can’t argue with that face.
She loved her “Domino Clothes”.
Thanks Louise for inviting us to your series.  It’s just so much fun!  We love it!


  1. That face!!! So cute!

  2. This is so fun. It would’ve been fun to see your other look, but I love this one too. It’s great when you can make things that your kids really love. Then the time spent sewing is worth it.


  1. […] Dominos  by  liZ from Simple Simon and Co […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

