Our July do.Good Stitches Quilt

The  Nurture Group of do Good Stitches has done it again!


This quilt was designed and quilted by Kat from Kat and Cat Quilts!  The block was designed based on the Fibonacci Sequence, AKA the Golden Spiral or the Golden Ratio. The  I’ve always had a thing for the Golden Spiral! Maybe it’s being an architect or something, I don’t know. Kat has a wonderful explanation of the mathematical equation and how it’s found in nature, here.


The blocks were pretty easy to make. Of course, Kat, has a great tutorial here! When you make the block you end up with two opposite blocks.


The first set I made ended up being a tad to small. Not sure what I did wrong…. Luckily I figured it out before I actually finished the blocks! I love the stripes, too. I ended up donating these blocks to our Seattle Modern Quilt Guild for our charity quilt. The charity quilt didn’t have a particular block, but particular colors. And luckily for me, teal and green just happened to be the colors!


So I started again. Got it just right and mailed them off!


Love how the quilt looks with the different solids and all the blocks put together! And as usual, Kat’s quilting isn’t too shabby either!


And the back! You can read more about Kat’s finished work on her blog here.

Thanks to the Nurture Circle for another fun quilt!!


  1. That is really cool! I love how the pcs are squares and rectangles yet it has a curvy feel bc of the quilting. (I don’t quilt, so to me, this is pretty cool.)

  2. boy, that’s really striking! Nice job!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

