Lion Mask Tutorial with My Own Fringemaker

There are all sorts of projects to do with the My Own Fringemaker, but in the spirit of Halloween I’m thinking of costumes! Like maybe a Lion costume…..



I was going to make a lion stuffie. Maybe I still will, because our neighbors are having a baby any day now! Anyway, I’ll keep you posted on that! I’ve been wanting to do something lion since I found out about the My Own Fringemaker! Register to win a Fringemaker here!


And if you’ve been around here for long, you know I like masks! Especially masks! We’ve done the Mr. Fox and the Arctic Fox and now it’s the Lion. Ready to make your own?


You’ll need a fringemaker (register to win here, or buy it here), yarn, felt, 14,5″ elastic, the pattern, pipe cleaners, and cutting materials. For the felt I used four colors, cream, orange, yellow and a brownish yellow.


Cut out all your pieces.



Sew the elastic to the back piece of the mask.





Make the mane! Start by tying off the yarn on the Fringmaker in a knot. Wind the yarn around and around and around! With this one I used 2 kinds of yarn, you don’t have to. Then sew down the middle. I just sewed down once since I knew the yarn would be sewn in the mask. And lastly, Remove the mane from the Fringemaker!


Position the main on the back mask and pin it in place.


Place the front of the mask in place and the chin/cheeks piece and the middle piece on top and sew around the edges. This part isn’t super easy, so go slow so that everything stays aligned.



Embellish! Add the inside of the ear and the nose. These pieces could be glued on, but I sewed mine on. And sew down the chin and the middle pieces. Then add the wiskers. Cut a little slit in the cheeks, insert the whiskers and then sew down on top of the whiskers.


Cut out the eyes and sew around the edges.


And your done! Find a sweet kid for the mask!


You’ve got a lion! What mask would you make with the My Own Fringemaker?

Don’t forget to register to win here!

I have been compensated with either payment or product for this post. All opinions are my own, honest opinions!



  1. Very cute detail, Louise. I love it!

  2. Kate Cassil says:

    Very nice! Are you developing anymore projects/tutorials for the fringemaker?

  3. Still loving this lion mask – very clever!

  4. I love this! How can I print the pattern?

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

