My Halloween Quilt and A New Quilt Pattern

Halloween is so close and I”m sitting here on the computer instead of sewing! What??? But I’m so excited to share my Halloween Quilt!


I bought this panel fabric years ago! I love it! I love the whole line by Sherri Berry. There are actually a few lines that use these characters, Trick or Treat Street, The Costume Club  and the Costume Clubhouse. Fortunately, I don’t know if any of these are still being made! Sorry!


The panel has this spider web dotted in behind the tree and that is what inspired my quilting. I started in the center and just kept going around and around and around!


As much as I love the panel and the front, I’m totally in love with the back, too! Next to the panel were these 5 masks. I think you can probably cut them out and make real masks, but I decided not to do that. They are perfect for the back!



You might have noticed the little pieces pieced in… Another print in the series is this patchwork like fabric with these adorable little images. I decided to cut them out and piece them in throughout. There’s the scaredy cat on the front and the rest are on the back.  Which one’s your favorite? I think my favorite is the super-stitches one!


And I used yet another print from the series for the binding. You might be able to make out what it is, but just in case, it’s the cute little ghost repeated over and over with fun colorful outlines.



Part of the reason I stalled for so long was that I’m not really a panel person. I knew I wanted to use the whole panel, but I needed to add something. Then the bat thing came to me! You know my love for paper piecing and origami inspired animals… So I made a bat pattern!


And I couldn’t add just 1! I also hand embroidered the little eyes on them inspired by the shape of the panel character eyes.


And you can get the pattern in my craftsy shop, here! This isn’t the pattern for the whole quilt. Just the bat!


I’m making some pillows now! I wonder if I”ll finish them before Halloween??? What would you make the Bat Block?


OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Is it spookier in black and white??


Spiders, Bats, Cats, Ghosts, Masks, Costumes! It’s Halloween! I’m keeping this one, which is a rare thing at this Bat Cave!


  1. Very very fun and I love all your extra details, especially the spiderweb quilting!

  2. That is awesome! Both sides are so interesting and the quilting….very cool!

  3. Both beautiful & fun!

  4. I love how you set it off to one side and added the bats! The quilting is perfect!


  1. […] the quilt, I made these a lot more […]

  2. […] this sneaky Halloween one is the one that I actually made in 2013, but never blogged about until this year! It was my […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

