The Long Over Due Super Easy Chair Revamp Tutorial

I don’t know if I should really share this. At least not the before pictures. But I will! ChairRevamp-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

Recently I redid our horrible dining room chairs. I’ve been putting it off for way to long! Hence the name of the tutorial! I put it off for too long and it is so easy! Silly me! I keep saying we’re going to buy new chairs, but we can’t find ones we want… So for now, a little bit of fabric and and some batting and it looks so much better!


So that’s what I needed! I used about a yard and a half of fabric and a bag of batting that I had sitting around from another project I didn’t do. You’ll also need a screw driver, a hammer and some scissors.



First step, easy! Just unscrew the seat from the chair frame.


Use your hammer to pull out the nails (or staples are used sometimes) from the cushion to remove the existing fabric. Under the bad fabric we had, I found another layer of fabric. I just left that layer.



Cut! Cut out the batting about the same size of the seat and the fabric the same size of the fabric you removed.


Take all those little upholstery nails you took out before and start hammering them back in! Start on one side, then the opposite, pulling tight. Then again on the other two sides.

ChairRevamp-Step6-ImFeelinCraftyLastly, screw the seat back into place! See! Super easy!! You can do it too!


I’m still not in love with the chairs, but I’m so much happier with them now! I can hold out for a little longer! Or what do you think about painting the chairs??? I’m thinking I might try that! What’s something in your house you want to redo?



  1. I love your fabric choice! What about repainting the chairs?
    We redid our chairs, and found sooo many layers of fabric! It’s amazing what a difference new fabric makes.


  1. […] November, I shared how I re-upholstered our dining room chairs (yep, with tutorial). They are SOOOO much nicer now then they were. I’m still not sold they […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

