A New Christmas Pillow

This project started out as a mistake, but turned into something I love!


A new Christmas pillow!


ChristmasPillow-Oops-ImFeelinCraftyI was making these blocks for our last do.Good Stitches quilt of the year and I totally made a mess out of the directions. I don’t know why I couldn’t seem to get it right. Anyway, I ended up having a bunch of little half square triangles that were smaller than they were supposed to be. I knew I had to do something with the pieces!


The pattern is for the Moda Love block.


With the input of awesome Seattle Modern Quilt Guild friends, I ended up adding the border and quilting the top to make into our new pillow!


I added a zipper. I used to always do this, but then went back to the easier envelope back style. But this time I decided to add the zipper. I just happened to have a green one out on my table, so I used it!


There’s nothing too special about the back….


I’m so happy I didn’t just scrap my mistake pieces! I think it turned out just lovely for a Christmas pillow, or an any time of year pillow for that matter!


  1. What a great way to use your “oops” blocks and make them into something beautiful! I have the same problem with HST’s and don’t know why, so I’ll keep your clever idea in mind! Your pillow just makes me smile!

  2. Beautiful! I like this ALOT!


  1. […] you remember the Christmas Pillow I made? Well, I made that one out the pieces I messed up making the blocks for this […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

