Pop! Departures at Seattle Art Museum

Local? Near Seattle this weekend? There’s a great exhibit at the Seattle Art Museum! But only for another week!

Scan_Pic0113

 OCT 9 2014 – JAN 11 2015

From SAM:

In the 1960s, art for the first time embraced the brash world of commercial culture, advertising, and mass media—images of shiny newness, youth, and seduction. Pop art electrified artists, audiences, and critics alike. It changed our understanding of art, and the ripple effects of its seismic shift are still felt today. Pop Departures presents the bold visions of American Pop artists, including the works of icons such as Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Robert Indiana, and Claes Oldenburg.

The exhibition takes us beyond the pioneers of Pop and to the work of subsequent generations of artists for whom Pop art has been an inspiration or a vehicle for critique. See works from the 1980s and ’90s by artists such as Lynn Hershman Leeson, Jeff Koons, Barbara Kruger, and Richard Prince. Continue with work made in the era of digital markets and social media by Margarita Cabrera, Josephine Meckseper, and Ryan Trecartin—contemporary artists who use Pop as a point of departure.

Pop art changed the way we consume media and redefined art as part of our market economy. Pop Departures will blow open your notions of Pop and take you on a journey through the last 50 years of American popular culture.

?????????????????????????

image via SAM website; KISS V, 1964, ROY LICHTENSTEIN, AMERICAN, 1923-1997, MAGNA ON CANVAS, 36 × 36 IN., COLLECTION SIMONYI, © ESTATE OF ROY LICHTENSTEIN, PHOTO: EDUARDO CALDERON.

 

I’ve loved Roy Lichtenstein’s work for ages, but I had never seen it so close I could almost touch it! All those little dots! It had been a while since we had been to the museum and seeing his work and the others, just reminded me of all that is lost on the computer screen. All the brush strokes. The lines of paint. You don’t see it on the photo above, but it’s there! You can imagine him painting it, you can look and try to figure out his process.

Pop Departures

 image via SAM websiteVOCHO (YELLOW), 2004, MARGARITA CABRERA, MEXICAN, B. 1973, VINYL, BATTING, THREAD, AND CAR PARTS, 60 X 72 X 156 IN., THE ANNE & WILLIAM J. HOKIN COLLECTION. © MARGARITA CABRERA, PHOTO COURTESY OF THE ARTIST.​​​​​​​​​​

 

Since I’ve been working mostly with fabric for the last, I don’t know how many years… I was totally drawn to the work of Margarita Cabrera. She’s new to me and amazing! The car above is probably 90% a sewn object! They had more of her work, household item made of vinyl. Again, as I was scanning over the exhibit online before I went I saw this image and didn’t think much of it. Because, like we do online so often, I scanned. I didn’t realize it was a sewn object! I will say, it was super hard to NOT touch this one! So hard!

Andy Warhol - Marilyn

image via SAM websiteMARILYN, 1967, ANDY WARHOL, AMERICAN, 1928-1987, SCREENPRINT ON PAPER, 36 X 36 IN., SEATTLE ART MUSEUM, BEQUEST OF KATHRYN L. SKINNER, 2004.119, © THE ANDY WARHOL FOUNDATION FOR THE VISUAL ARTS, INC. / ARTISTS RIGHTS SOCIETY (ARS), NEW YORK, PHOTO: PAUL MACAPIA.

 

And what Pop Art exhibit would be complete without Warhol? There was quite a bit of Warhol’s art, but not your typical pieces. Pieces I had never seen before!  The exhibit was so inspiring! I learned about artists I didn’t know about. Saw art from some of my favorites up close and personal!

unnamed1sm

unnamed3sm

The kiddo liked the exhibit too, but I have to say we had to DRAG him out of the totally cool photo booth! Needless to say we have all sorts of Pop Art Family portraits! You pick the style and out comes you transformed into Pop Art. I wish I had used one of these for our Christmas card this year. Darn!

I wish I could show you the whole exhibit here on my blog! I had so many favorites! But I can’t…. If you are near Seattle between now and January 11th, you really need to see this one!

I have been compensated with either payment or product for this post. All opinions are my own, honest opinions!

 

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

