A Wonky Block with a Tutorial

I usually don’t post my picks for my do.Good Stitches quilting months, but I posted a picture of the block coming together and I learned that some of my circle friends aren’t excited about wonky! And I learned a little something about wonky while I was making these, so I thought I’d share!


The block we’re doing for the February Nurture Circle of do.Good Stitches is made up of 5 blocks and 2 solid pieces. And once you put them all together you end up with 1 12.5 x 24.5 inch block.


I’m loving the look of these blocks. Log cabin wonky, my friend! Love it! For this large block you’ll need:

(1) 12.5 inch wonky log cabin block

(1) 8.5 inch wonky log cabin block

(3) 4.5 inch wonky log cabin blocks

(2) 4.5 inch solid back ground blocks, these can be pieced or just a simple cut piece of fabric. However you do it, it need to be all background color.


You’ll need some fabric, of course! Ha! For the center piece you’ll need scraps. Any scraps. I’d prefer mostly solids, but…  And an array of whites and/or creams for the outside. For mine I used, Kona Snow, Kona White and Kona Oyster. I also added in a few white pattern on white fabric scraps.


Here’s what I learned. When I start with a square, the wonky log cabins always turn out looking nicer.


This is a big ole oops that didn’t make it into my block!  First off, I started with a wonky shaped center and tried to make it work. Secondly, I was using all scraps. So I sewed on this triangle. When I think wonky, I also think I can use odd shaped pieces. But, um, no. I mean I guess if you’re really good at it you can…. But mine always turn out nicer starting with a square.


Then make your little log cabin. Mine stayed between 4 inches to 2 inches, approximately.



Here’s the key to wonky (at least for me)- The wonky part of the whole thing comes in the cutting, not the piecing! After piecing I ended up with a traditional square. After cutting, I ended up with a wonky block! Just rotate that cutting square!


Next you keep building on the center piece just like you would any log cabin. This one just happens to not be a square! For the do. Good quilt, I’d like these to have the colored center off center. The off center thing seems to go along with the whole wonky thing, don’t you think!

I use scraps, not straight pieces for the side of the log cabin. Different widths, some are pieced, most aren’t straight. This also helps add to the wonkiness!



Just like you did with the center, you use the cutting square to cut your SQUARE off kilter from the middle. This is where you do want to cut a real square!


Like I mentioned before, here are the blocks you need:

(1) 12.5 inch wonky log cabin block

(1) 8.5 inch wonky log cabin block

(3) 4.5 inch wonky log cabin blocks

(2) 4.5 inch solid back ground blocks, these can be pieced or just a simple cut piece of fabric. However you do it, it need to be all background color.



The fun part… Arranging the ‘mini’ blocks to make the overall block.


Then back to the sewing machine! Sew the pieces together so that you end up with a 12.5 x 24.5 inch block.


I’m so exicted to see how this comes together for the quilt circle!!! Yea!!!


  1. WOW! That looks like a lot of work, but I love how it is coming along! Wonky quilts are awesome! I love the colors in the scraps you used.

  2. oh yeah – this looks like great fun!

  3. This looIs great. Love the color choices. I have not tried wonky yet. Did try impromptu and it is much more difficult than people might think! Your tip for making wonky be starting square and turning to cut makes so much good sense. Thanks!

  4. Love it! It’s going to be awesome!

  5. This is great. Thank you for sharing the secret to when you wonk-ify the block. It makes total sense now.


  1. […] This is the quilt I ‘designed’ for the February do Good Stitches bee. I say designed in apostrophes, because I did wrote the tutorial, but I can’t claim it’s totally my own idea. I’ve seen similar around, but you can check out the tutorial to make our own here. […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

