Free For All PJ’s

ok, yes, I love to make the kiddo pj’s! I don’t know why…. But I do! So I did it again!



My lady friends over at Frances Suzanne ashed me to participate in their newest project, Free for All. It’s a part of thier Flip this Pattern series, but the kick to this part is that you have to use free patterns and you don’t have to Flip them! And right around when they asked me, I saw See Kate Sew’s pj pant pattern and I know I had to make them!


It’s all been just perfect timing! I saw Kate’s pants, right around the time I got asked to do this. I had already ordered the monster fabric I wanted to use to make PJ pants and the kiddo just had a growth spurt and outgrew a few pairs of pj’s!


But PJ pants need a top right? So I also needed to find a free for all boy’s top! And I did!


I tried out the Back to School Raglan Tee from Stacey at Boy, Oh Boy, Oh Boy Crafts. The pattern is a size 6 only, so I was a little worried it would be too big. It is a little big, but not too much! The only thing I did differently on this top is that I didn’t add the bottom hem since the shirt I upcycled already had a hem.


I was a bit worried about the neckline too. But I love how it turned it out! The kiddo has a larger head and I’ve had problems with some patterns being hard to get over his head, but not with this one!


As I was sewing the sleeves, I thought, no way are these going to be long enough! But once I added the cuffs. Perfection!


I asked him if he really likes his new PJ’s and he LOVES them! He did say that he likes the shirt, but he likes the pants the best!


The sizing dilemma I had with the top was just the opposite! The PJ pants pattern is only in a size 5, so I was worried they might be too small. But… They are a little big… I’m confused! Ha! I might need to resize the elastic….


For this one, I did do a few things differently then suggested. First, I lined them with a thin flannel. So I basically made two pairs of pants and put them inside each other, then added the cuffs and waist band. For the flannel, I did as the tutorial says. After I made the lining, I was debating on how to do the monster fabric. I didn’t want to cut it up too much. So I taped the front and back pattern pieces together and overlapped the seam allowance. This allowed me to not have the side seam and have the monsters wrap around the edge, uninterrupted!


I did add the cuffs, per the tutorial, but mine aren’t as tight as I thought they would be. No one’s complaining though!


Both peices are super comfy! And who says PJ’s can’t be a little loose!


I just love this picture! The pup and the blanket have been with him since Day 1, pretty much! This Christmas the alien was added in to the crew. And a couple of weeks ago, Kangaroo Rat was added to the crew.


Can I leave on the PJ’s mom? Of course, cutie!

And don’t forget to check out everyone else’s free pattern sewing!




  1. That is such a cute pj! I looooove the fabrics.

  2. I love these so much.

  3. That monster print you used for the pj pants is perfect.:) Great looking pjs!

  4. What cute pjs! I love making PJs. It is a good chance to use wild fabrics!

  5. I can see why these PJs are a hit!! They look super comfortable and FUN!

  6. That pyjama pants fabric is awesome! And I love the colours of the top too. Very cool PJs!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

