Seattle Modern Quilt Guild My Modern Show

Usually when our guild has a show, there’s a theme… Like the star show and the binary show…. But not this one!

This one was called,

My MODERN: Celebrating Five Years of the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild

And we all submitted quilts that showed our idea of what Modern is to us! Is it…..

Use of bold colors and prints

High contrast and graphic areas of solid color

Improvisational piecing


Expansive negative space

Alternate grid work

Modern traditionalism

The show is over and my quilt has come home. But last month I headed over to the show with my friend Debbie and I thought I’d walk you through it with us!


The first one is a charity quilt that we all participated in. We made blocks with fabric donated by Clothworks. Two of my blocks got into this quilt! And the quilting is just lovely, done by Lisa Nolte.




I didn’t make that last block, but I want to do a whole quilt with teeny tiny half square triangles! What do you think? Would you?


Here’s mine that I hung in the show. I love love love this one, that I originally made for a show at Green Eileene. It’s funny because when I made it, it was square. but with some love it appears to not be square anymore!


So here we go! Let me show you around the show!


Kaleidoscope Love by Jessica Vehorn


Hunks of Sky, Matt Macomber


The grey and orange quilts are Double Binary by Deborah Ferguson.


The yellow and white one is a paint chip challenge by Kristen Ballou called Yellow Birds on Back (and yes, there are yellow birds on the back!)


The large quilt on the left is Falling by Allison Dutton. The red and white is Scrap Migration by Rachel Pascual. and the bottom right is Tinkering No 2 by Grace Lainhart


Double Trouble by Katie Pedersen


Orange Appeal by Lisa Nolte


on the left, She Loves Me by Katrine A Eagling and on the right Tempo Rubato by Martha Peterson


Antithesis by Rachel Singh


BitterRoot by Darcie Kantor


Soundwave by Amy Kilian


Our other window quilt, Rainbow/Zen by Megan Riley


 Happy Encounter: Gwen meets Karla meets Angela by Jackie Benedetti


Gina’s Gold Star by Marilyn Lone


If a Tree Falls in the Woods by Maureen Mandy


PNW by Becca Jubie


Happy Times by Chandra Wu


Fox Tails are a Girls Best Friend by Ellen Jackowski


The beauty of hanging quilts in the middle is that you get to see the backs too!


Spiraled Jungle by Debbie Jeske


on the left, Timelines by Carrie Franklin and on the right, Passage by Aly Bazeley


on the left, Isaac’s Quilt by Sandie Holtman, top middle is Molten Metal by Megan Vanderburg and the bottom middle is Untitled by Vickie Christensen and on the right, Reflection by Sandra Jean.


Top left, Waves by Amber Dawn Arnold, bottom left, Tunnel Vision by Sue Mariotti and on the right, Grey Geese by Kate Barnet


I love the matched binding at the bottom of Kate’s Grey Geese quilt! Debbie gave the group a demonstration on how to do this not too long ago. I still need to try it!


Postage Springs Eternal by Lynne Shandley


And last, but in no way least, is Not A Christmas Quilt by Dionne Matthies-Buban. I love the name!

Is was another awesome quilt show by our lovely Quilt Guild! I love being surrounded by such talent!!


  1. Catherine Silling says:

    Thanks so much for the walk thru the show! what fun. I loved seeing the quilts.

  2. Great show! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Appreciate the sharing of your fun! I like your quilt…want to make a dark modern for my son.

  4. I loved your virtual quilt show! So much so that I posted it on our MQG FB page for all to see. I have the feeling that I have been to that place though… Where did you hold the show? Island Quilter perhaps? It’s a strange feeling of deja vu =)

    Thanks so much for sharing those amazing quilts. I’m inspired! Can’t wait to get sewing again!

  5. Awesome show! Good to see them all again!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

