January do Good Stitches Quilt!

Our friend, Kat, the fastest Nurture Group quilter there is has done it again with a great do Good Stitches quilt!

do good stitches qayg string scrap foundation piecing sm

image via Kat’s blog

In January she requested the group to make 2 string blocks as quilt as you go blocks.


This year, we learned the group we donate to, My Very Own Blanket, doesn’t have as many boy quilts as those for girls. So this year we are trying to design our quilts with more boy fabrics. I decided on yellow and green.



For the blocks, we started in the middle with a strip sewn onto a piece of batting. Then we continued adding strips until the block was covered. You can find the whole tutorial on Kat’s blog, here. It’s really quite a quick and easy block!

qayg zig zag quilting copy

image via Kat’s blog

One thing I’ve always wondered about QAYG is the bulk at the seams of the batting. Kat had a very cleaver idea of using a zig zag seam to help ease the bulk of those seams. Great idea! And I love the look of it.

quilt backing qayg zig zag1

image via Kat’s blog

And the back is a solid piece of diagonal striped fabric. Perfect match for the front!


I’m tempted to make my own version of this! What about you?


  1. I love QAYG, and that is such a cute and easy block. I’m thinking that if I had a couple set up by my sewing machine, I could always be working on a charity quilt. Thanks for the great idea.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

