Technicolor Galaxy BOM

Yep, you read right! I’m doing 2 BOM (block of the month) quilts this year! I’m loving both of them! They are so different, both the medallion quilt and this Technicolor quilt are working from the center out!


I debated and debated doing this Technicolor Quilt, but in the end, I decided to go for it! The quilt is designed by Alyssa from A Pile ‘o Fabric. It’s called a skill builder quilt in that each month a different quilting technique is used so you can learn new techniques that you might not attempt on your own!


If you bought the whole kit, fabric included, you’d do the rainbow like in the picture. I didn’t do the rainbow! As much as I love bright colors and have been wanting to do a rainbow quilt, I’m also trying to use my stash!


Last year I bought a bunch of blue neon fabric after being inspired by my quilting friend Cath’s, of Wombat Quilts, neon pink quilt! The Seattle Modern Quilt Guild did a more traditional block of the month last year that I had planned on using my neon for. But it didn’t happen. So this year, the Technicolor Galaxy is going neon blue!


The first technique I learned about was starch! I’ve always skipped this step in everything! I’ve actually never ever even owned a can of starch! I’ve used liquid starch to make ghosts for Halloween, but never used it in quilts or sewing projects. It’s amazing! It turns wrinkly fabric into fabric that feels like cardstock! Very weird and cool, all at the same time!

First we glued the center pieces in place.


Then we made bias tape applique! Which scared me…. There were a lot of steps. After watching others do these steps, I decided to not do them! All I ended up doing was making the bias tape and glueing it with Elmer’s glue! Another technique I have never used! Glue it down and iron in it place! Easy peasy!!




Then we quilted! Oh, this is also a quilt as you go quilt! Yeah!

Now onto March’s border! Paper piecing! Right up my alley!!

(and, yes, all these were iphone pics, so please excuse the photo quality!)


  1. At first I didn’t like the pattern. But, your color scheme nailed it. Can’t wait to see the finished product!


    • At first it wasn’t my favorite either! My husband even said, ‘I don’t know, it doesn’t look like something you’d make!’ But I thought it would be interesting, so I went for it! Thanks about the colors! I’m liking it!

  2. Yours is so gorgeous! I love the colors! I went with the tradiditional color wheel ~ too scared to think out of the box on this project! The first block (center) was a challenge, especially the bias tape. Sad to say I may never wash my finished quilt because of that! Then how will I know if the wash away stabilizer really washes away? LOL I keep telling myself this is a skill building project so just go with it! Can’t wait to see more of your progress!

  3. This is really amazing and I’m anxious to hear more about it as you progress out!

  4. Wow! Those are impressive!

  5. Impressive!


  1. […] is the Technicolor Galaxy BOM that I started a while back. I’m a bit behind, since I’m only just finishing the March […]

  2. […] was the Piano Keys. Super easy paper piecing. I made one extra block of this one. You can see in my planning for this block I didn’t use a solid. Once I had the two prints together, I knew it was a big […]

  3. […] January Challenge was Bias Tape. I already knew how to do the bias tape from the Technicolor Galaxy Quilt I’m (still) working on, so it wasn’t totally a new thing to me. It took me a while to […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

