No Sew Easter Egg Placemats- a Crafty Tutorial

I was all prepared to do a bunch of crafty Easter decorating, but I can’t kick this horrible cold. Needless to say, I haven’t gotten as many projects done as planned! But we did some sunny spring weather and we headed outside to do an Easter craft!


First we did a fun and totally kid friendly project with stamping with toilet paper rolls. Then we glued them together with Speed Sew to make placemats!



With eggs and without!


Want to know what you need? Fabric for the front and back of the placemats, fabric paint, a bunch of toilet paper rolls, Speed Sew (you can sew these too, but I chose to use the Speed Sew). I also use toothpicks to spread the glue around, but they were MIA for the photo!


First step… Cut your fabric into 13×19 inch rectangles.


Put out the paint and get those rolls in there!




How to get the egg shape? Just pinch one end. Or put a little more pressure on one side of the roll to squeeze the round shape into an egg shape. It takes a little getting used to, but it’s not hard!



Then stamp! At first I thought we could use both ends of the toilet paper roll, but you can’t. You’ll want to use the top to add pressure to get your paint on evenly.


I was going for a more graphic look. But my little helper went all artistic on me and started painting Easter Egg Heads! I was specifically told that this one CAN NOT become a placemat. It will be hanging on the wall!


Iron a 1/2″ hem on each side.



Now comes the Speed Sew! No sewing involved! (You can sew if you prefer, but now I have a way to not sew!) This step doesn’t need much glue. Just a little to tack it down.




Glue the top and bottom together, wrong sides together. This step, I made sure to get really good glue coverage along the edges. Do this along each edge.



And you’ve got some placemats! Yea!!



We had fun making these! I wish I had had some cardstock with me to make cards, too. It would have been a great project for some easter cards, but we ran out of time before our family date night! What do think? Look like fun?




  1. My girls would love this, thanks for the great ideas


  1. […] last year we used toilet paper rolls to stamp Easter egg placemats! These I made a no sew project, but you can stamp on […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

