Paint Chip Challenge

We seem to like challenges in our Modern Quilt Guild! This time we decided to tackle a paint ship challenge. You are given a paint chip and all your fabric has to match the colors on the paint chip.


The ones in charge of the challenge picked grey, teal, light blue and dark blue. Some lucky ducks got a yellow chip too, which meant they got to add in accent pieces of yellow. I stood in line for my envelope hoping ‘not grey, not grey, not grey…’


I got grey….


And it wasn’t easy to find the grey’s either. Everytime I’d go to a fabric store I’d pull out my chip and nope… Or I’d buy grey thinking it had to be right and I’d get home and it wasn’t. Then I finally raided my stash and found just the right pieces!


I’ve been really wanting to do one of these triangulated pieces. First I used a triangulation app on my phone. Then I just assumed I’d make it into a paper piecing pattern. But, um, no. My assumption was wrong! Paper piecing a triangulated piece, didn’t work so well for me! I ended up just piecing as I went.


I just couldn’t get snow out of my head when it came to this paint chip. So a snowy mountain top it is. I considered a white bunny in a snowstorm, but…..


I did get some yellow in the back! I’m loving that almost all of this was actually from my stash in the end.


How do you do labels? I just use a sharpie and make a had written label. Maybe I should a more professional looking label…


So, I am totally over my wanting to quilt a triangulated anything! It was a good exercise in inside corners… Not a big fan, I learned! But I’m happy with it. Glad it’s done.

If you want to see them all, check back in the first part of June. Or come out to the show at Drygoods Design on June 4th! That’s opening night, but the show will be up for a month. And they are for sale!! Yea! We’ve never done a for sale show before!

And I can mark this off as 1 of my Q2 Finish Along finishes!
2015 FAL at On the Windy Side



  1. Love this little quilt. And now that you have mastered inside corners you need never fear them again. On to inset circles . . . Seriously, I’d hang this one on MY wall.

  2. Wow, very beautiful!

  3. This is fantastic! I liked reading how ithe colors stretched you out of your comfort zone. Is the show sale a guild fundraiser?

  4. yay for team grey! Too bad your original method didn’t work, but I sure like your end result!

  5. Oh I love it….I love the low volume and I love the iceberg feel it has.

  6. I think your quilt label has a lot more personality and more ‘you’ than a ‘professional’ label. Love it!

  7. I’d say it turned out pretty great. Love your quilting.


  1. […] you know, I made my mountain mini quilt for the Paint Chip Challenge with the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild. I first showed my mini quilt on […]

  2. […] I did! I couldn’t believe my luck! Especially after the paint chip challenge with I got the one color I really didn’t want! Now I have to find a spot for this […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

