Sewing Room Updates!

I don’t have a beautiful bright, airy, white sewing room like I see all over the internet… But I have a great space despite not having windows!! And now it’s even better!


A couple of weeks ago a friend posted her ironing board set-up on IG. I knew immediately that I had to copy her idea! So as genius as this is, I can’t take credit for it!

When I saw it I knew it was the perfect Mother’s Day present for me! So I asked my husband if he had gotten me anything…. Luckily, he hadn’t! So I told him what I wanted. He was fine with it until it registered that what I wanted came from Ikea! That’s part of the present, I told him! Taking me to Ikea! hehehe! And he must love me, becuase he went there with me. First time I’ve ever seen him even drive near an Ikea, much less venture in the front door!


I hated my ironing board and all the stuff that would pile up on it and under it! And then to get to my shelves behind it, I had to move everything, then slide the ironing board and hope the iron didn’t fall on my head. I guess I could have moved the iron, but hey, we all need a little risk, right?

And the bookshelf we used is basically the same size as the ironing board! A few inches longer, but not much! So it doesn’t take up much more space at all!


It all starts with an Ikea book shelf…. I’m in love with this one, becuase I like all the different sized holes. We have 2 others for the playroom already! My friend used the one with 8 holes. The other thing about this one, is that it’s a little wider, or taller once you turn it on it’s side. I like a tall ironing board!


Then the dear husband made a trip to the hardware store for a piece of wood. We got a shelf that was the exact same depth of the bookshelf. He cut it to the right length. I got the ironing board cover fabric and cut it down to size. and a piece of fabric. This fabric is actually a lovely sheet fabric that I happened to be hoarding! Then he helped me staple the ironing board fabric and the cover fabric around the board.


We added locking wheels. 6. Maybe could have used 8, but I think the six work fine.


I just dropped the top right on top. So far I haven’t secured the top to the shelf. But it’s pretty heavy that I don’t think it will move around too much. I haven’t had a problem yet. I was also thinking that I might add cutting boards under the ironing board for a really long cutting surface…. But I haven’t done that yet!


And it’s just an inch or two higher than the counter, but it’s at a height that I can actually sew standing up. That will be really nice when I’m doing a lot of little pieces that need sewing, ironing, sewing, ironing, sewing, ironing….


Now, I don’t have all the piles under the ironing board. I have a spot for all the stuff that used to sit on top of the ironing board, so I have a full length ironing board again. I can easily roll it out to get to the fabric behind it. I can roll it out to let the large fabrics slide over each side as I iron! And when it’s in it’s spot, the room actually feels much bigger! Nice!

Thank you very much, golddogmom, for the inspiration! And to the family for helping get it and put it all together!




  1. goodness! This is really terrific. Uh. I think I need to show MY husband!😉

  2. this is wonderful! I love it! Cannot see the pic on what I see on fb—I have to go to this page to see pictures. Good job!

  3. This is really great. If you wanted even MORE storage space and a wide cutting area, I would put two bookshelves back to back with some sort of means of fastening them together, then top it with the cutting surface, and leave the ironing surface unsecured (as you have it) just on one side and you could have a great place to cut out large pieces or even pin bast smaller projects like baby quilts. It is not clear if that might not get too heavy to roll around when fully loaded up with things stored on the bottom, though. What a great addition to the sewing room! You have such a lot of fabric, it must be fun to almost always have what you need at your fingertips!

    • That’s a great idea! I’d love it, but unfortunately my space is not that big! But it would be awesome! It is heavy to move as it is! Yes, It’s fun to have so much fabric. Somehow I ended up with a lot of fleece that’s taking up too much space. So I need to figure out some uses for that! I do love it when I start a new project and I don’t need anything. That happens with craft projects too!

      • If you are looking to unload the fleece, they make great dog blankets for dog shelters, or backs of quilts for youth charities. I have mostly used flannel for those and don’t know how the fleece sews up for larger projects. But I am with you on just tackling whatever portion of the project will get the biggest results the fastest. Thanks for the feedback on the issue of the weight of your new rolling shelves. I have been tweaking my sewing room as I find thing that might make the sewing easier. My room is really quite small, it was a former nursery in our house, so like a small bedroom. But it fits an old dining table, my sewing machine table, and another table that we just made to hold the quilt after it has fed through the machine. I took my ironing board top off it’s base, and now just put it up on one end of the table as needed. It is a little heavy to go up and down, but I just consider that part of my workout! I also have one of those small portable table top ironing boards for pressing while piecing. That is great to have it just beside me while working! Nice chatting with you. Good luck on all your projects!

  4. What kind of sewing machines do you use? Do you have a favorite? Any recs?

  5. genius! What are the dimensions? Thank

  6. I love you’re creative solution to storage/ironing/& maximizing your space! I’ve got a bedroom in the home I just moved to where I keep my quilting supplies. I’ve got 3 Hemnes Cabinets with glass door fronts PACKED with fabric (even tho I’ve only been quilting for a very, very short time), a closet with scrap storage, batting and misc. other stuff. One 2 shelf short bookcase for patterns and books. I do not sew in there at this time tho – my family room is very large with beautiful light and a view, so I lined up my table behind the sofa – facing out, with a 6 x 8 design wall behind me, and a temporary ironing station to my right, right at seat level. I sew, swivel, press and do it all again!! So far this is working, but I need more creative suggestions like yours to develop a permanent working solution for my new craft!!! I wish I could show you photos -I’d love to hear your ideas.

  7. Such a great idea! What is the finished height? I would love to make this, but don’t want to stand on a stool to use it. Haha

    • It’s about 36″ high. Ikea has a different shelf that is similar, but not as tall (on it’s side). All the openings are square in the other one. THat might work better for you!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

