Hello? Where am I?

I don’t know if you’ve missed me or not, but I’ve been away unexpectedly….

There’s been a lot going on, including getting ready for our summer vacation. Getting the kiddo ready to end school. Getting the house ready for the house sitters….


But more importantly, one thing sent me in a tailspin. Our adorable little beagle passed away extremely unexpectedly. She was fine, I left for a couple of hours, came home and she was obviously not feeling well. My husband and I debated going to the emergency vet or waiting until the morning. She’s a beagle and like beagles will eat anything, so we thought it would be ok to wait. When we woke up she was curled up just like she was snuggled up sleeping comfortably. Even the vet said, but it looks like she’s just sleeping… Well, yes, but….

I’ve had many pets, but none of them have died this unexpectedly. And our pets are so much a part of our family that it has been a really hard week. Some of her beagle traits could be frustrating, but she was just the sweetest little thing and will be throughly missed. I’ve shed many a tear for her and still ask why she left us. We’ll never know the answer to that last question.


As ways to cope my son and I drew pictures of our fondest memories of her. She loved being hear the kiddo. I loved that when he’d go outside to hang out in the hammock, she’d be right next to the hammock. She loved ‘her’ place on the couch, even though my husband thinks it is his spot! And that’s me in the green chair on the computer!  And she loved chasing squirrels! She was also the only dog I’ve ever had that actually caught one before! Mostly they just taunted her in our big cedar tree.


And then we also went to our local Paint your Own Pottery place and made a dog to remember her by!

So, I should be back to normal here real soon! While I was grieving, I did sew a lot. So hopefully I’ll be able to show you some of those projects really soon!



  1. So sorry, Louise.😦

  2. I’m so sad for your family. ;-(

  3. Louise,
    Your sweet fur Beagle will always be a part of the family. I hope your wonderful way to honor your little fur girl will your comfort your hearts with beautiful memories.
    Karen Marie

  4. Such a tender time for you and your family. Thank you for sharing it with us, and know that you’re not alone in your grief–loving thoughts are going out to you.

  5. kislanykim says:

    Oh I’m so sorry for your loss. Losing a pet is SO hard and then suddenly like that can be even worse. I’m glad that you and your son drew some pictures together. Thinking of you during this difficult time.

  6. So Sorry…….those furry family members are such a part of the pack. hugs

  7. So sorry. I completely understand your loss. Our pets are family too.

  8. sorry for the loss of your sweet puppy. They seem to leave a huge void when they are gone.

  9. I’m so sorry for your loss. We have beagles, too, and know how much it hurts to lose a furry member of the family, especially when it’s so unexpected. Drawing pictures with your kiddo is a great way to remember her. Hugs!

  10. Sarah Helene says:

    How sad! Certainly Miss Gilbert, your family pet beagle will be missed, Stephanie.

  11. So sorry!

  12. Claudette says:

    I’ve been lurking on your blog for a long time, but this is the first time I’ve commented. So sorry for your loss. We share such a short time with these darlings and it is never enough. Thinking of you and your family.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

