My Double Sided Hexi Quilt

Ok, maybe calling it a quilt at this point is stretching it. Maybe I should call it my double sided hexi quilting project…


I posted a picture of this project on IG while I was stuck in one of the airports we got stuck in on our trip and no one knew what I was talking about. That’s probably because I think I made it up and I’m probably insane for doing it. But it’s going to be cool when it’s done in 30 years!


I thought this was a good idea when I started, but then I googled it and couldn’t find any tutorials… I knew that was a bad sign! But I love the idea, so I’m still going with it. And since you didn’t know what I was talking about, I thought I’d show ya what I’m up to!


So first I make a lot of hexi’s, just like normal. Well, kinda. I cut my paper pieces. I cut my hexi’s about a quarter inch larger than the paper. But I cut two pieces of fabric each time. The difference is I also cut batting the same size as my paper pieces. Then I baste the hexi’s, one with paper and one with batting.


And I keep doing that over and over and over….


Match up the front and back….


And then I ladder stitch the front and back together.


Then, pretty much like you’d sew together a regular hexi quilt, I sew together the pieces. Again using a ladder stitch.


And then I just keep going and going…. I need to put away the cross stitch and focus on this one for a while. I’ve been working on it for quite some time. Only it keeps getting puched to hte side for other on the go projects, like cross stitch and quilt binding!

Thanks for sticking by while I’ve been a bit absent. I had plans to blog about this and that while I was on vacation, but life got in the way. I’m going through a rough patch this summer, but I’m hoping I’m back to blogging and the rest will come around!



  1. This is so cool! It’s going to make a super fun quilt, even if it takes 30 years to make😊

  2. I’m intrigued! You don’t mention taking out the basted paper but I assume you do, right? It’ll be interesting to see where you go with this for sure!
    And I’m so sorry for your rough patch! That never feels good…

    • oh, yes! I do remove the paper! I sew together four sides of the hexie, remove the paper, then continue sewing the last two sides. Thanks, I’m hoping things are turning around. slowly, but I think they are!

  3. Intregiuing! X

  4. onceawingnut says:

    Sorry about the rough patch. Hope you’re through it quickly. As for your hexies, they’re awesome. Double sided! Whoa. I think you’re on to something new

    • I don’t know if anyone would want to spend the time they are taking! I started with one technique and it took forever, but I think this new way that I am doing it is going much faster, so maybe it won’t be as bad as I was worried it would be! And thanks, things are getting better. Slowly. but they are!


  1. […] projects in the works! Do you do cross stitch? I’m loving it, but it’s putting my double sided hexagon quilt on the back burner! […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

