Charley Harper Inspired Cardinal Mini Quilt

I think I threw this image out as a teaser sometime back. I actually made it last year, but never showed it off! I was waiting until I had the pattern to go with it. But I never made a pattern. And honestly, I doubt I’ll ever get to it! I just made this one up as I went along and I don’t have it and I haven’t taken the time to recreate it yet!


I made this for a swap that our Seattle Modern Quilt Guild did last year! We did a secret mini swap! And I knew my partner loved Charley Harper, so I decided to take a piece of his awesome art and make it into a quilt!


Since it was a secret swap I had to be careful of the pictures I posted! I just loved this one! I started making it with 2×2 squares and was getting HUGE! So I switched gears and ended up with this guy!


image via Charley Harper Art Studio

If you don’t know Charley Harper, you should check him out! I love the art! I’ve actually wanted to make quilts out of his designs for quite some time. I just noticed a beagle that might have to be a quilt sometime soon…. Quite a bit of the art has been turned into mosaics, which then just calls out to be made into a quilt!


I decided to do the matchstick, skinny, stitching for the background. And faned out the tail. I didn’t want to applique the little eyes and knees so I used buttons!


And I used a super skinny ribbon for the legs. I could have done super skinny patchwork, but since I had the ribbon, I thought it might be easier! And it was!


I also always love checkin’ out the back of quilts and seeing how the stitching makes the patterns of the front.



Do you have a favorite piece of art that you want to make into a quilt?


  1. Love it!

  2. I totally want to make a copy of this for my aunt’s 80th birthday. She loves cardinals (and I love Charley Harper)!

  3. This is really sweet and I remember the recipient being VERY pleased!

  4. This is fabulous – I love Charley Harper too!!

  5. So cute!!

  6. I love Charley Harper too! I keep looking at his and wondering if I could pull it off. You did a great job!

  7. I love Charley Harper’s illustrations, particularly his cardinals! You did an amazing job! Love it!!

  8. Sarah Helene says:

    COOL & SOOOOOO UNIQUE! Bright red cardinal quilted & inspired from a Charlie Harper illustrated design! Love the pure white background — makes the bird “pop”! BRAVO for a friendly swap gift to your partner at the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild. Clever mini-quilt, Stephanie. Thanks for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

  9. onceawingnut says:

    For me, it’s the nobblely knees that get me. Awesome!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

