Border of the Month Quilt Update

I feel like I keep talking about this. One I love it! Two, I keep finishing and photographing it for our monthly SMQG meetings, so it’s finished and ready to blog about!


I am working on other things! But… Here’s more of my quilt!


I was up to design this month’s border and I felt like it needed some triangles! So I went with the flying geese. I love the no waste flying geese tutorial from The Pieceful Kwilter! I used 2×4 geese. I think it was ready for a different shape.


You can download the directions from the SMQG Blog, here. The directions include a very ordered set of 4 borders of geese and the more random set of borders. The random set is what I used. Or you could come up with your own border or geese!


Again, I quilted the border! I added on last months border without quilting it. Which I realized wasn’t what I really wanted to do. So for this border, I pieced the border and the batting onto the last border, and then quilted. It kinda defeated the purposed of QAYG and having a big quilt to move through the machine, etc. But I got into a rhythm and it seemed to work out. I used the flying geese to design the quilting pattern that continued over to the last border.


OK, it’s on the shelf and I’m working on other things! Hopefully something to show soon!


  1. This looks great. You’ve used the orange accents really well. And yes geese works well for this last border. My favorite border might be the one with pale green triangles pointing in and out, outside of the solid mid-green border. I like the idea of it. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. I love how it looks! I’m going to miss you sharing it. I love the colors.

  3. Yours is looking SO terrific! And I can’t believe you will have it quilted once the last border goes on!

  4. This is fantastic! Thanks for sharing it!

  5. Lovely quilt! Green is not really my favorite colour but you have made such a beauty of it that I find it very beautiful!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

