Pinterest Try Tuesday- Balloon Balls

I’m starting a new thing! Pinterest Try Tuesday! You might have already figured it out…. My goal is to try a new ‘pin’ each week. I don’t know about you, but I ‘pin’ a lot of things. Then I never look at most of them again. Wellll…. I pinned them for a reason, and typically that reason is that I want to try to make it.


So I’m going through my ‘pins’ and picking one to try each week. Then on Tuesday, I’ll let you know how they turn out! I thought for the summer that I’d start with ‘pins’ for the kiddos! And we decided to start with these cool balloon balls! The link associated with the pin is now gone….


You can google sensory balls for other people’s how to’s, but I went on memory.


We decided to try it with both playdoh as a filler and rice as a filler! To give it a try you’ll need either/or rice and play dough, balloons (two different sizes is key), and a funnel.


First, the play dough ones! For these I cut the balloons first!


Then load them with play dough. I’d recommend dollar store play dough, instead of the more expensive ‘real’ stuff. Or you can make it yourself! Then stuff the stuffed balloon into another empty balloon. You can keep adding more balloons if you’d like!


And for the rice ones… These take more patience! Put the balloon around the funnel. Getting the rice through the funnel can be frustrating! It does pour in as quickly as we thought it would. I almost lost my helper during this step! You just have to take it slow and pour small amounts of rice at once!


Then tie it off and trim the end. And again, now you stuff the full one into an empty one.


KEY! The key for the balloons, at least for us, was to have two sizes of balloons. Fill the larger one and then wrap it with the smaller one to get the really cool looking tight fit.



The results make for one happy kiddo! And if your kiddo juggles, I bet they would be even happier with these! We’ve had fun with them! If you are looking for a bouncy ball, this is not it!


The rice one…. It doesn’t squeeze down quite as much. It’s lighter than the play dough one. It keeps it’s round shape better than the play dough version. He likes it.


The play dough version… Despite his expression, this is his favorite! It makes for a really cool squeeze! More like the stress balls that you can find in stores.


But, it doesn’t keep the round shape. You have to work it back into a round ball….


All in all, I’m glad we finally made these!


And I’m pretty sure this guy is too! I say it’s a YES pinterest project!

You can follow me on pinterest! And this project was in my Fun For the Kids pinterest board!




  1. Thanks for testing one of those “crafty” pins! I save a lot to my boards on pinterest, but for me, it is recipes that I often like, but never make! I so appreciate people who have taken the time to write a good “tutorial”!!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

