Pinterest Try Tuesday- Super Balls…

We were very sad… Today I present another installment of Pinterest Try Tuesday, but this week we have a Pinterest Fail… Sad….


This week we decided to make super balls. Which I think are the plastic balls that bounce. We weren’t completely sure, but we decided to try it anyway.

3f9dcf2d88762393476ff719b6932b47 copy

We followed the tutorial from Making Memories with Your Kids. Check out the original tutorial for the details (because you don’t want to follow mine if it’s super balls you are looking for!!) Her’s look amazing! Ours…. Not so much!


The tutorial calls for glue, food coloring, borax, cornstarch and water. All the materials we had at home, so luckily this was a free one for us!


We seemed to follow the directions correctly. First we mixed the glue and food coloring.


Then we mixed the cornstarch, borax and water.


And we mixed the two concoctions together. Still following the directions to a tee!


We pulled out our goo. Looks pretty much exactly like Making Memories goo….



Then we started to roll them into a ball. And we rolled. And we rolled some more. But they never really changed into a ball. Now if you are looking for a way to make brains for your halloween party… This would be great prop! It even felt kinda like brains. Or how I imagine brains to feel like, since I’ve never actually rolled brains around in my hands….


So we called this a fail and cleaned up the mess!

I saw this done on another blog, following the same tutorial, and it worked for them. I have no idea what I am doing wrong. I want to give it another try, but I’m on my own. The kiddo is done with it. For a little boy that loves making art, he does not like to get very gooey! If I have better luck next time, I’ll let you know!

Have you ever tried this? Did it work? If you see I did something wrong, please let me know!





  1. Hi
    I’ve done these things with my kids. But they are 20 somethings now, so not for a long time. I’m sure we did super balls and they worked. Sometimes chemical reactions do not work well if things are not completely mixed, or the ingredients are the wrong temperature etc. I found a PBS link, which seems to be written by someone with science background. Perhaps you can see the difference between the method you used and theirs:
    Have fun with this. Kids do remember this stuff and it’s so good for their little minds!

  2. Arg! So annoying! I feel bad for you…

  3. Too bad! Super balls used to be my favorite!

  4. My 7 y/o and I tried this and it didn’t work. Our mixture never got dry likes yours looks. It was like gooey silly putty. We put it in a ball but as soon as we set it down it would flatten. She did enjoy playing with it in that form though.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

