Notebook Cover Swap at the PNW MQG Meetup!

This last weekend, my modern quilt guild, the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild, hosted a great meetup for all the ‘local’ chapters! We had a blast! It was like a mini retreat hanging in town with my quilting buddies. There was a picnic, a mixer, a shop hop, and an all day sew-in. The sew-in was my favorite!


Oh, and there was a notebook swap!

I totally did not read the directions and didn’t realize we were supposed to quilt it! OOPS! I thought about quilting it, but didn’t want to add batting. I even had the quilting design figured out in my head. But why I didn’t think about quilting without the batting I don’t know! I can only say, maybe I was too tired to ave been sewing that night!


I started out with a block I had made for my Technicolor Galaxy quilt. I made it for the quilt and then decided to go in a different direction, so I saved it. Then decided it would be great for the notebook cover!



Added a couple more curves that go across the front and back in fold over into the insides of the cover. I love Debbie’s notebook covers, so I went to use her tutorial, only to find out that she uses Rachel’s tutorial! Super easy!


At the swap, I was super nervous about who would get my unquilted cover… And then actually, my friend Rachel, ended up with mine! She says she actually prefers them not quilted. Perfect! I’m hoping she wasn’t just being nice!


And then I got mine! LOVE IT! And it is actually quilted! As you may have noticed above… I do like those flying geese!


And how can you not love little bitty flying geese????

And the super cool button closure! My son saw this one and immediately asked for one of his own! So, just wait for Christmas everyone, I think I might have some ideas….


The meetup was such fun! We had a great table with Debbie, Rachel, Rachel and Becca!


It took all day but I finished three paper piecing blocks for my Nurture circle of do Good Stitches! Ok, so I guess it didn’t take all day. We did take breaks for a little pop-up shop action with Island Quilter and some food. And dinner was quite a learning experience. Waiting for an hour and half for dumplings! And being amazed at how many other people waited that long too!! They were worth the wait, thank you Rachel!


And who doesn’t love a big bag of swag!!

Thanks SMQG!



  1. What a fun post. So glad we could spend some time together last weekend.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

