Pinterest Try Tuesdays (or Wednesday..)- Homemade Sand Art

Well, I guess it’s Pinterest Try Wednesday this week! And sorry I missed last week’s Pinterest Try Tuesday!


This week we tried to make Homemade Sand for a Sand Art project! Did you make these as kids? I loved making sand art! When my son decided to have an art party birthday party this year, I knew we had to make sand art, but he had no idea what I was talking about.

I just happened to have a little sand art kit from the Dollar Tree that I had been holding onto for a Stocking stuffer. So I pulled that out and he fell in love too! Yea! I knew he’d love it!

So this week’s Try isn’t from one particular blog pinned to Pinterest. I read a bunch of How-To’s here and there. I need to make ALOT, so I decided I didn’t want to try the using food coloring and drying it out. I wanted more instant results.


There are a lot of tutorials out there that say to use sand and sidewalk chalk.


Well, I got what looks like sand and sidewalk chalk…. Not the colored sand look I was going for…


But most tutorials online seem to think that grating the sidewalk chalk into salt is the best idea. So we did that! The results were actually pretty good! I grated it using the fine side of the grater. And the day we did it, it looked great.


After it sat while you can see the two different textures between the salt and the ground sidewalk chalk.


You can see how after a few days the salt/chalk starts to separate a bit.

I even found a box of 52 pieces of chalk for 4 bucks! I was ready to go with it! I was ready to grind a bunch of chalk with salt for hours on end to prepare for the birthday party activity. But in the end, we’re buying colored sand for the sand art birthday party activity!


The bought sand is, of course, easier. But it’s brighter and the right texture for the project!

The homemade sand would be perfect on a day were the kiddos are bored, you have bottles, sidewalk chalk and salt! You whip some up and there you go!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

