Candy Land Quilt with A Quilter’s Table

Here we go. Season 5 of Sew Ready to Play starts today! And a big thank you to my quilty friend, Debbie, from A Quilter’s Table! Debbie and I met years ago at our Seattle Modern Quilt Guild meeting. And we’ve been friends ever since that first meeting. She’s one of the most creative and inspiring people I know. I can’t wait for you to see what she has for us today! Welcome Debbie!

It’s been a couple of years since I sewed along with Louise/I’m Feelin’ Crafty on her annual Sew Ready to Play blog hop. She’s celebrating 5 years this year, so how could I resist? I knew right off I wanted to make something based on the first board game we played with our children when they were small, and years later, the first we brought out for grandgirl – Candy Land! Couldn’t resist making a small quilted play mat reminiscent of the game board.

Supplies needed for quilt top (40″x38″):
2 yards background fabric
solid scraps

Cut 2″ squares from your colored scraps. I chose the colors of every third or so square on my game board, but feel free to personalize by adding more or less. I used: 7 red, 7 orange, 1 pink, 5 green, 4 blue, 6 yellow, 4 purple – 34 total.

Trim squares on both sides to make them ‘tumbler’ shapes. I didn’t measure, as I wanted more of an improv look. I also stacked several squares before cutting, which made quick work of it.
Cut a few strips of background fabric, 1 1/2″ wide, then into 3″ and 4 1/2″ sections, cutting more strips as you need them. Sew 3″ pieces to each side of a tumbler and press. You could easily strip piece if you prefer.
Trim top and bottom even with tumbler.
Sew 4 1/2″ strips to top and bottom, and press. Repeat for remaining tumblers.
Trim each block to 2 1/2″, being sure to leave at least 1/4″ on all sides of the colored tumbler. I trimmed some ‘straight.’
And I angled some to match the curves on the game board.
Now cut 355 – 2 1/2″ squares from your background fabric.
Piece your blocks into rows, then your rows into a quilt top!


Now it’s time to baste and quilt as desired! I followed the path from the Candy Land board, then filled in around it, finishing my quilt mat off with a sweet candy cane-edged border.
Thanks, Louise, for inviting me to sew and play again! I’ve had fun reminiscing and grandgirl even enjoyed playing a round of Candy Land on the play mat! Tomorrow I’ll post about all the fabric and technique details over at A Quilter’s Table. Join me there then, or any time, if you enjoy quilting, other random sewing, and a bit of table talk. If you’re on Instagram, you can find me at #aquilterstable. Hope to see you around!
Thanks Debbie!!
Be sure to stop back by for more!

Sept 7th- Debbie from A Quilter’s Table

Sept 9th- Jennifer from Busy Being Jennifer

Sept 11th- Ari from Max California

Sept 16th- Stacey from Boy, Oh Boy, Oh Boy Crafts

Sept 18th- Karly from Paisley Roots

Sept 21st- Louise from I’m Feelin’ Crafty

Sept 23rd- Narelle from Cook, Clean, Craft

Sept 25th- Al from Shaffer Sisters

Sept 28th- Rachel from Let’s Begin Sewing

Sept 30th- Marci from Marci Girl Designs


  1. Sarah Helene says:

    DEBBIE, HOW CLEVER & COLORFUL, a QUILTED “Candyland” play mat! I recall playing this game many times years ago, when I “babysat” for my nieces & nephews, who are aged 43, 41 & 39 now! This idea for a quilted mat/board is FABulous as it’s hand-made, soft & portable. I like that you use of cotton fabric, small white dots on a grey background with different colored solid fabric “tumbler” shapes along the winding path from START to FINISH. Sarah in Minneapolis

  2. That is beautiful!

  3. love this! so inspiring. Now I want to make quilts for all my favorite games!

  4. What a sweet little quilt! Living here in Germany I have no idea about Candy Land but still love the game board aspect and the whole idea. It’s a beautiful quilt and the quilting gives it a perfect touch. Thanks so much for sharing!

  5. This is such a fun project! Very sweet and very clever too. I am adding the idea to my “grands” file…which is getting endless. Looking forward to seeing what’s up next.

  6. This is so adorable! What a great idea. And LOVE the binding!


  1. says:

    […] Candyland by Debbie from A Quilter’s Table […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

