Sports with I’m Feelin’ Crafty

Well, another scheduling update! Today I’m filling in and we’ll get back to the real schedule on Monday!


This year threw me for a loop! I couldn’t figure out what to do… Then it came to me, a sports themed quilt with circles. Then the whole ball thing came in to the picture. But what would I do with the quilt??? That’s when it totally fell into place!


I have two best friends from high school who are awesome. They both had little girls right around the same time and each of their girls got quilts from me! One even got my first ever quilt! Then one of my friends had another child, but he never got a quilt… AND I remembered that this spring they told me they were decorating his room with a sports theme! So perfect!


Now, how to make circles???? I tried a few ways and couldn’t get the right circle. Then I found a bunch of tutorials online for this freezer paper technique that is awesome! I take no credit for the technique, but it’s great! I can’t believe I hadn’t heard about it before now. In the video, the lady says people learn it and then just start making a bunch of circle quilts after learning the technique, and she’s right! I totally have a bunch of circle quilts ideas now!


First you cut a hole in the freezer paper the size you want your circle to be and iron it on the wrong side of your fabric. Then cut out a hole in the fabric.


Notch the fabric around the circle, but don’t cut all the way to the freezer paper.


Use a glue stick and glue on the freezer paper around the circle. Then fold back the fabric, over the paper, and iron it down.


Here I switched to regular school glue. Glue on the notches. Then place on your background fabric and iron in place.


Then stitch in the ditch around the circle. (Sorry, not a great picture of this step…) Then pull off the freezer paper! You can trim down the background fabric around where you stitched!

The video is great too! If you learn better from videos, it’s a good one!


For each of the balls, I printed the image of the ball and traced it with this tool to leave the indentation of the shape on the fabric.




For both the tennis ball and the basketball, I just used an applique stitch along the lines of the white and brown of the balls. I also added freezer paper to the back of the fabric to help secure the fabric from bunching!


The baseball was an easy one! Just a little red fancy stitch on some white fabric and your good!


The soccer ball was the most time consuming of them all! I did a little english paper piecing for this one.


And last, but not least… The bowling ball! For this one I used the same technique as above for the larger circles, but I topstitched it instead!


Then I quilted it with pretty tight stitching to give the illusion of movement! and I think it worked!  I also love the ghosting of the ball on the back.



I’m hoping the new owner will love it as much as I do!






  1. It’s wonderful!

  2. Sarah Helene says:

    SOOOOOOO CLEVER & COOL! Love the design, original & LOVE the colors too! THANKS for sharing. Sarah Helene in Minneapolis


  1. says:

    […] Sports by Louise from I’m Feelin’ Crafty […]

  2. […] though this quilt isn’t a favorite, I learned a lot making it! I got so excited with the new circle technique I learned for my sports quilt that I decided to try it here but not using a true circle. It worked, […]

  3. […] lastly, the moons. Easy peasy. This is the same circle technique I used for my sports quilt. Love […]

  4. […] started with the circle using the reverse applique process that I used here. Looking pretty good, I thought. Feelin’ good about […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

