Backgammon with Let’s Begin Sewing

Today we have a new guest to the Sew Ready to Play line-up! Today’s guest is Rachel from Let’s Begin Sewing! She is one of my real life quilty friends. We’ve been in the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild together for quite some time and I love what she creates, so I invited her over to play along this year and she agreed! If you haven’t been by her blog, you need to! And be sure to check out all of her amazing quilts.

This year for the first time I am participating in Sew Ready to Play with Louise from I’m Feelin Crafty. She is one of my quilty friends that I actually get to interact with in person.

I am not much into board games, but recently someone gifted me a custom made wooden Backgammon set. It is truly a work of art. Very painfully crafted with neatly polished wooden inlays. I love looking at it more than playing with it. The crisp and clean geometric pattern really gets me. This was the inspiration behind my Backgammon inspired cushion cover.

The cushion cover is foundation pieced. I modified the pattern slightly from the standard Backgammon board design using EQ7. You can download the template here. I limited the color palette to Kona Charcoal and Grass Green by Robert Kaufman. The cushion measures 13″ x 13″ and fits a standard 14″ x 14″ pillow insert.

The quilting is minimal and echoes the paper pieced pattern. For the back I used a zipper flap to cover up the zipper. I used this zipper closure tutorial by Svetlana of Sotak Handmade. It makes up for not having a matching zipper handy🙂 I used a 12″ zipper for this cushion.

A step really not needed but highly recommended if you plan to wash the cushion cover is to cover up the seams on the inside. I usually bind the seams with home made binding. It does not have to be pretty but goes a long way when washed as it prevents fraying.

Here are some other color options that I considered before settling on this one.

The possibilities are endless.

Leaving off with one last picture, I think it is going to look great on the couch.

Be sure to stop back by for more!

Sept 7th- Debbie from A Quilter’s Table

Sept 9th- Jennifer from Busy Being Jennifer

Sept 11th- Ari from Max California

Sept 16th- Stacey from Boy, Oh Boy, Oh Boy Crafts

Sept 18th- Karly from Paisley Roots

Sept 21st- Louise from I’m Feelin’ Crafty

Sept 23rd- Narelle from Cook, Clean, Craft

Sept 25th- Al from Shaffer Sisters

Sept 28th- Rachel from Let’s Begin Sewing

Sept 30th- Marci from Marci Girl Designs


  1. Sarah Helene says:

    COOL. Rachel, your “backgammon-inspired” pillow is really cool! THANKS for sharing, Sarah Helene in Minneapolis

  2. Love this, Rachel! Thanks for sharing so much about all the details – I really like that.


  1. says:

    […] Backgammon by Rachel from Let’s Begin Sewing […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

